Sugar-Free and Dairy-Free Slow Cooker Steel-Cut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe as far as ingredients go, omitting the optional raisins. I have 3 slow cookers, but not one has a medium setting. I used the smallest one, a 2-quart slow cooker. I used the HIGH setting and stirred at the end of each hour for 2 hours. Then I turned it to LOW for another hour, stirring after each half hour segment. I understand some people do not want sugar, and I can respect that. I prefer a small amount of erythritol/stevia blend and added it at the end before I filled 6 small half pint jars. Now I have breakfast ready for the week and can add berries or nothing at all. ***Update - This is delicious cold even! A great grab-n-go breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I do something similar.... Raisins, cinnamon,with a smidge of cloves & nutmeg... Into crock pot with 5 cups water and 1 heaping cup Of steel cut oats and raw honey... Put on low, go about my chores, stirring occasionally, and when finished, Pour into a loaf pan.... Each morning slice off what I want, put the rest back into fridge.... Looking forward to trying the bananas .... Sounds very good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
For our house, it's not important that we leave out dairy, so I added a tablespoon or two of butter for richness. Serve it with milk or half and half and I feel like I've got Heaven in a bowl! I'm about to make this for the third time since my first batch a week ago. I like it that much. But I prefer it minus the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLASHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
1- I use steel cut oats. 2- I use ripe bananas. 3- For alternative flavors, I like to substitute (fresh or frozen) blueberries for raisins...Or a pureed apple. Be creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
There is nothing wrong with the recipe except that I didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I like the idea of the mashed bananas, but if the objective is to cut back on sugar, omit the raisins. I also use almond/coconut milk in place of half of the water to add protein. This also adds a creamier texture overall. This can also be frozen in cupcake pans. Remove single servings and reheat in the microwave. A real timesaver. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Wow so easy! I made it overnight in crock pot set on low and it was delicious, I recommend using a liner for this one as the oatmeal sticks to sides pretty well I have always wanted to make an overnight oatmeal and this was a great start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I don't slow cook mine but I do make batches and store them in jars, ready to go each morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Will use other fruit and spices. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States