Sugar Cream Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My wife raved about this, she was always talking about a local farm markets sugar cream pie and how the store bought ones didn't taste near as good. The market closed and she has been complaining that no one even comes close. Well I figured I would try this and she loved it. I did use heavy whipping cream and a tsp. of vanilla because I goofed when I went shopping and didn't get the evap. milk. I think I will keep useing the cream. Why change a good thing. Thankyou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roy Krouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Lake, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My grandmother was famous for making this pie! Here are a few tips that might help. Combine the dry ingredients together first, then add cream or evaporated milk or whole milk-do not add sweetened condensed milk because it changes the whole taste, into a saucepan and turn it to medium high. Bring it to a boil and stir constantly for a few minutes. It should darken and thicken. Pour into your pie crust and bake at 325 for around 30 minutes-but-you have to watch it carefully after 20 minutes because it could get too hot and boil over and ruin everything. If you see it start to boil in the oven, take it out-it's done! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I have not made this yet but plan to do so within the hour. Funny you came up with this as I have been looking for this recipe for many years, since my Mother died. thanks for this recipe. Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Transfer, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
this is delicious, I have yet to check the calorie content, because its one pie that keeps me coming back. If you dont like custard, try this, its a good substitute. If you DO like custard, try it anyhow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I only had 1 12 oz can of evaporated milk so I used sweetened condensed milk to fill it out to the 2 cups needed. It turned out excellent and was extremely well-received at Thanksgiving dinner. Those lucky enough to get a piece raved about how it was the creamiest, sweetest sugar cream pie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is just like my grandmother's recipe from the 60's! Way cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariam's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Pie was very good. My husband was impressed, especially since my pies aren't usually very tasty. I baked it at 315 degrees for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
My sugar cream pie recipe uses real cream, but my local small grocery did not have any heavy cream and I had promised a sugar cream pie for a pitch-in so I found this recipe. Very good. Brown sugar gives it a different color and flavor, but good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
Is something left out of this recipe or is the oven temperature wrong? I made this pie and it never did set, I even put it back in and cooked it 20 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States