Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Made this for Christmas 08. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondie9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I forgot the vanilla - so it turned out a little 'plain' but oh SO GOOD. My husband and I kept coming up with other ings that we could put in it next time (becuase there will be many more next times with this pie) - you could add any extract and it would make an EXCELLENT cream pie, coconut, maple, rum, or even add some pineapple, etc. So smooth, creamy - I used Marie Calendar's ready made pie crust and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is great! I really didn't know what to expect since I've never had a sugar cream pie before. My eight year old asked that I make a vanilla pie of some sort and I found this recipe. Needless to say it was a hit and then some. Took the advise to make a couple of days in advance and it was nice and firm when I served for Thanksgiving. My daughter and rest of the family raved about it. I would compare it to a custard pie. Very smooth and sweet. Would not change a thing. Thank you, I will be making this for Christmas for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ketchme71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I thought this was very good. It did take a long time to thicken. I used a 9" pie pan and it filled it nice and full. I refrigerated it overnight and it sliced nicely and held its shape. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is a delicious pie! I have to give the pie recipe 4 stars based on the instructions though. I followed the directions exactly...to start with, but had to change things once i got started making the pie. I had to stir the filling for about 5-7 minutes before it started to thicken. The instructions weren't clear on the time it takes to thicken the filling. I then poured the filling into the crust and it only filled up about half the crust. It didn't look nice. So I haved the recipe and made more filling and dumped that on top of the other filling. This time the pie was filled up nicely. I love broiling the pie as it gives the top a pretty golden color and a delicious flavor. Watch the broiler though...mine took less than 5 minutes. The pie set up beautifully and looked picture perfect when I cut into it about 7 hours later. My husband is the sugar cream guy and thought it was super good, but could have been sweeter. I thought it was just right...not too sweet and very mellow. With my changes on preparation it is a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this recipe today and served it with dinner tonight. I have to say it is delicious! Even my hubby who said "I don't like that kind of pie" ate it and asked if there was more! I prefer a deeper dish pie and most my plates are larger ones so I adjusted the recipe for 10 servings. It worked perfectly :) While this pie tastes very similar to the Wick's pie, it has a much smoother texture and fresher taste. This will become a favorite! Thank you for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Mmmm... turned out really good. I was actually not making a pie, but poured the mixture into little ramekins over peices of pear. The pears should have been cooked a little before hand, but other wise it was really good. I didn't have cream so used all milk, and I added a tiny bit of extra butter, as well as a bit more sugar. The whole procces probably only took about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pastorswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. Reason I tried it was brother in law was wanting a sugar cream pie and I went searching for a recipe. When I found this recipe last summer I started making it. Everyone loves it. It is different from the sugar cream pies I remember from working in resturants, around here they sale the Wick's Sugar Cream Pies, I think this recipe is so much better and is more creamier and richer flavored. The brother in law for whom I made the pie eat a whole pie.. He said it was the best sugar cream pie he had ever eaten. So I continue to use the recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Every week during football season I make food from the region of the team that Houston plays. I made this pie for when the Texans played the Colts last season. I had never heard of sugar cream pie before. It was incredible. I made it again for my parents at Xmas. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bhuman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Easy and delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States