Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Love this old fashion taste that I remember a a kid going to Lytle's in Leesburg, Ohio. I'm not sure if this is similar to their recipe but it tastes that way to me. I did a couple of changes. First, I prebake the crust at 450 for 5 minutes. I turn down the temp the minute I add the crust to over so it will decrease to 325. I make the pie mixture according to recipe. I then pour the mixture into the prebaked pie shell. I sprinkle with nutmeg and pour 2 T. of melted butter on top. Then I bake at 325 for 40 minutes. We cut into it after it cools for 30 minutes. Last for a few days. My family loves it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALSART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Didn't look anything like the photo. I followed exact directions and it was very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was one of the best pies i have ever tried. It's almost like eating a denser version of vanilla pudding in a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitjane1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coronado, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Amazing! I too am familiar with Wick's sugar cream pie and I can honestly say I like this better! Growing up eating Wick's mean that is a BOLD statement! I followed another review posted and made my own crust which was perfect. I felt this recipe was extremely easy to prepare, even the crust was no issue at all. Just as other have said, don't get in a hurry and be sure to cook it long enough and it will set up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Ease of prep but you do have to watch closely in both stages---the thickening and the broiling. Tasted some of the filling and it tasted really good. Will update as it is cooling in fridge now. (:Update: I have to give a very, very, VERY good!!!! Really enjoyed, so good once it set up and was chilled in the frig. I think the hardest part was waiting for it to be chilled enough to eat. But one of those recipes that is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
The flavors were very good but this didn't set up like I expected. It was more of a pudding consistency and I was expecting something firmer. Maybe I didn't cook it long enough before pouring into the pie pan although it was thick and creamy when I poured and I refrigerated it overnight...I will try again though because it seems like it'd be a very enjoyable dessert if I could get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I didn't care much for this pie. I have never had a sugar cream pie before so it's maybe just a type of pie I don't like. I followed the recipe exactly - the only thing I would do differently is to flour or grease the pie pan before I put the crust down as the crust stuck to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
OMG... I have not had sugar cream pie since the last time I was back in Ohio visiting family. Even though I am proud of my cooking ability... I have been apprehensive in making this pie. It just seems like it should be hard. Let me tell you... this recipe is SO simple, yet delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Fabulous! Rarely have I gotten such rave reviews over anything I have taken to a dinner. I did use half whipping cream/half of half & half as I was low on the latter. I can not praise this enough. The texture is to die for. My best friend said it was like eating homemade ice cream baken in a pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustoffmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was awesome! the texture was so smooth, I followed the recipe except cut the sugar to 2/3 cup. I also did not have 1/2 &1/2 so used equal parts of heavy cream and milk, it was wonderful!!!! will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States