Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Didn't look anything like the photo. I followed exact directions and it was very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This was one of the best pies i have ever tried. It's almost like eating a denser version of vanilla pudding in a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitjane1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coronado, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Amazing! I too am familiar with Wick's sugar cream pie and I can honestly say I like this better! Growing up eating Wick's mean that is a BOLD statement! I followed another review posted and made my own crust which was perfect. I felt this recipe was extremely easy to prepare, even the crust was no issue at all. Just as other have said, don't get in a hurry and be sure to cook it long enough and it will set up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Ease of prep but you do have to watch closely in both stages---the thickening and the broiling. Tasted some of the filling and it tasted really good. Will update as it is cooling in fridge now. (:Update: I have to give a very, very, VERY good!!!! Really enjoyed, so good once it set up and was chilled in the frig. I think the hardest part was waiting for it to be chilled enough to eat. But one of those recipes that is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
The flavors were very good but this didn't set up like I expected. It was more of a pudding consistency and I was expecting something firmer. Maybe I didn't cook it long enough before pouring into the pie pan although it was thick and creamy when I poured and I refrigerated it overnight...I will try again though because it seems like it'd be a very enjoyable dessert if I could get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I didn't care much for this pie. I have never had a sugar cream pie before so it's maybe just a type of pie I don't like. I followed the recipe exactly - the only thing I would do differently is to flour or grease the pie pan before I put the crust down as the crust stuck to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
OMG... I have not had sugar cream pie since the last time I was back in Ohio visiting family. Even though I am proud of my cooking ability... I have been apprehensive in making this pie. It just seems like it should be hard. Let me tell you... this recipe is SO simple, yet delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREAKITIKI97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Fabulous! Rarely have I gotten such rave reviews over anything I have taken to a dinner. I did use half whipping cream/half of half & half as I was low on the latter. I can not praise this enough. The texture is to die for. My best friend said it was like eating homemade ice cream baken in a pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustoffmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was awesome! the texture was so smooth, I followed the recipe except cut the sugar to 2/3 cup. I also did not have 1/2 &1/2 so used equal parts of heavy cream and milk, it was wonderful!!!! will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This gets better every time. I'm also from Indiana and although it's not the same as Wick's... We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States