Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Best pie of my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diandra Dunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natalie.reisen
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
DE-LICIOUS! Looks as pretty as it tastes. Will defiantly make this one again. Instant hit! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie.reisen
Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Wonderful. The only change I did was use some nutmeg with the cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very good sugar cream pie! I need to make it again, though, because it didn't quite set up perfectly. Thinking I'll cook it a tad longer next time around. It didn't hold it shape, but it wasn't completely runny either. The flavor was very good! I sent one to the firehouse with my husband (for a guy who's favorite dessert is sugar cream pie) and he said he won't be able to eat another sugar cream pie again! He said this was his favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
As a Hoosier, I am quite proud to make this pie. It is delicious. As with other reviewers, I got to a pretty high temperature to get it to set right, but I brought it up from medium to hot fairly slowly. This has worked out well for me so far and I have made it three times now. Scrum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Being an Indiana native I had really high hopes that this could compete with Mrs. Wick's. Unforturnately it just wasn't the same. It was more like a custard less the egg. I probably won't make this again. I had a recipe that I used years ago and lost...didn't think it would be difficult to find another recipe close to what I had but it's proving to be a challenge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Simply delicious! I use a graham crust & have gotten rave reviews for years; my mother-in-law has requested this for her birthday which speaks volumes as she is the ultimate chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
When I make this recipe I have to make divide the pie into fours. One for each member of my family. I took it to a church carry-in and got compliments on how good it was, how not-to-sweet it was and was asked for the recipe. It can also be made lactose free using lactose free milk and cooking to a temp of 200 using a candy thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
5 stars for the recipe, but 3 stars for directions. Luckily, other reviewers left tips and advice which helped immensely. I used the ingredients listed, except I used brown sugar in place of the cinnamon on the top. I cooked the filling on medium until it began to bubble throughout and it thickened up to the consistency of pie filling (thicker than pudding), about 15 minutes total. I poured it into the baked pie shell, scattered tiny pats/shavings of butter across and then spread a thin layer of brown sugar across the entire top. I baked it for 25 minutes @ 325 like another reviewer suggested, then I placed a pie shield over the crust and put it under the broiler on the 2nd rack from the top (DO NOT use the top rack!! I learned the hard way that this pie scorches in SECONDS). It only takes 20-60 seconds to brown the top so it's bubbly and browned, yet not burned. Definitely keep an eye on it while it's broiling and be sure to cover the crust to prevent burning. You could skip the broiling altogether, but I wanted the brown sugar to caramelize and give a crunchiness. Once it was sizzling all across the top I took it out, & once cool enough I covered & refrigerated to take to a dinner the next day. It was served @ room temp and when sliced held its shape perfectly. It tasted somewhat custard-like, minus the egginess, & had a rich vanilla cream taste, like a firm vanilla pudding. I'll make this again for sure, sometimes just as a pudding, the filling is SO tasty warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie-Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Sugar Cream pie is my husband's favorite dessert and this recipe didn't disappoint! Easy to make with ingredients normally kept a t hand, it's perfect for whipping up when unexpected guest appear. So sinfully delicious, 5 stars just doesn't seem like enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States