Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
As a Hoosier, I am quite proud to make this pie. It is delicious. As with other reviewers, I got to a pretty high temperature to get it to set right, but I brought it up from medium to hot fairly slowly. This has worked out well for me so far and I have made it three times now. Scrum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Being an Indiana native I had really high hopes that this could compete with Mrs. Wick's. Unforturnately it just wasn't the same. It was more like a custard less the egg. I probably won't make this again. I had a recipe that I used years ago and lost...didn't think it would be difficult to find another recipe close to what I had but it's proving to be a challenge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Simply delicious! I use a graham crust & have gotten rave reviews for years; my mother-in-law has requested this for her birthday which speaks volumes as she is the ultimate chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
When I make this recipe I have to make divide the pie into fours. One for each member of my family. I took it to a church carry-in and got compliments on how good it was, how not-to-sweet it was and was asked for the recipe. It can also be made lactose free using lactose free milk and cooking to a temp of 200 using a candy thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
5 stars for the recipe, but 3 stars for directions. Luckily, other reviewers left tips and advice which helped immensely. I used the ingredients listed, except I used brown sugar in place of the cinnamon on the top. I cooked the filling on medium until it began to bubble throughout and it thickened up to the consistency of pie filling (thicker than pudding), about 15 minutes total. I poured it into the baked pie shell, scattered tiny pats/shavings of butter across and then spread a thin layer of brown sugar across the entire top. I baked it for 25 minutes @ 325 like another reviewer suggested, then I placed a pie shield over the crust and put it under the broiler on the 2nd rack from the top (DO NOT use the top rack!! I learned the hard way that this pie scorches in SECONDS). It only takes 20-60 seconds to brown the top so it's bubbly and browned, yet not burned. Definitely keep an eye on it while it's broiling and be sure to cover the crust to prevent burning. You could skip the broiling altogether, but I wanted the brown sugar to caramelize and give a crunchiness. Once it was sizzling all across the top I took it out, & once cool enough I covered & refrigerated to take to a dinner the next day. It was served @ room temp and when sliced held its shape perfectly. It tasted somewhat custard-like, minus the egginess, & had a rich vanilla cream taste, like a firm vanilla pudding. I'll make this again for sure, sometimes just as a pudding, the filling is SO tasty warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie-Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Sugar Cream pie is my husband's favorite dessert and this recipe didn't disappoint! Easy to make with ingredients normally kept a t hand, it's perfect for whipping up when unexpected guest appear. So sinfully delicious, 5 stars just doesn't seem like enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Tasty! I didn't care for the texture the broiler gave the top of the pie so next time I'll skip it and just add a layer of whipped cream instead. I made 1 1/2 times the recipe for one pie. Good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made this pie for some friends who had never heard of sugar cream pie before. I am from Indiana and grew up eating this dessert. This recipe was "okay", it tasted about right, but it was to creamy for real sugar cream pie. The pie should be firmer in texture. I will keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Made this for 4th of July. Pies are a tradition at our family gathering and I wanted to try something new. I followed the recipe exactly as written (except I sprinkled the pie with cinnamon sugar rather than cinnamon). My family loved it!! Next time I have to make two because the one disappeared so fast! The custard-like texture was delicious! My two year old probably could have eaten the whole pie if I had let her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELGAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States