Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I had never heard of a sugar cream pie, but I love custards and decided to make it yesterday. I decided to do a coconut version and added 1/2 C shredded coconut to the custard along with the vanilla. Then, after topping the pie with the butter, and cinnamon, I added 1/2 C coconut on top and broiled it for a minute or two to bubble the butter and toast the coconut. Do not broil too close to the flame, as the coconut burns quickly! The pie came out incredibly light and absolutely delicious! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This pie is fantastic! I just made it last night, and between my husband and me, it's already gone! It has a very light, creamy texture - for some reason reminded me of creme brulee - and the flavors of vanilla and cinnamon were just wonderful. This is so different from other pies I've made. I just love the delicate texture of this one. I did not feel it was too sweet by any means, just extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This pie came out GREAT! I'd never had, or heard of a cream pie, but I had some extra half/half and didn't know what to do with it, so I ran an ingredient search. I was baking the pie crust while I was cooking the cream...thinking oh this will take awhile, it didn't. I followed other's suggestions and cooked on med/high. Thanks for the recipe. I think I'll try adding some cocoa next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Good pie, but something is missing.....I will have to tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Awesome pie... Just like Mrs Wicks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly. It tasted great. But the 2nd time I made this I used a graham cracker crust, 1 1/8 cup milk and 1 1/8 cup heavy cream; also topped it with a chocolate ganache and homemade whipped cream. This is a wonderful pie as is or with any variation you would like to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bastrop, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Best pie of my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diandra Dunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natalie.reisen
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
DE-LICIOUS! Looks as pretty as it tastes. Will defiantly make this one again. Instant hit! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie.reisen
Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Wonderful. The only change I did was use some nutmeg with the cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Very good sugar cream pie! I need to make it again, though, because it didn't quite set up perfectly. Thinking I'll cook it a tad longer next time around. It didn't hold it shape, but it wasn't completely runny either. The flavor was very good! I sent one to the firehouse with my husband (for a guy who's favorite dessert is sugar cream pie) and he said he won't be able to eat another sugar cream pie again! He said this was his favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States