Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and was very impressed with the result. The texture was creamy and smooth, but light. It looked so pretty coming out the pie pan, the filling held up beautifully and could be cut cleanly with just a kitchen knife. I might add more sugar next time as I like a sweet custard, but my husband loved it as is. Thanks for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This pie definitely lived up to the 5 star rating. Great flavor and texture. I cooked my filling on medium high heat and it thickened up perfectly. I made 3 last night and they all came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dober mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My husband does not like sugar cream pie but he loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
At first I was a little skeptical about this recipe but I wanted to try something new! This pie was delicious!! I did add brown and white sugar to the top to make a crunchy, sweet topping and added slices of fresh strawberries when I served it! This pie was great!! I will be making this again very soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
SO delicious! I would give this a 5, but the recipe gave no indication what heat level the ingredients should be cooked at. "Cook" by itself is a little too vague. It also needed a time estimate for how long it would take at a certain heat to become "thick and creamy." Mine started to thicken nicely at a higher heat, but when didn't seem to get any thicker, I poured it into the shell and broiled the topping. Even after chilling overnight, however, it still didn't get the consistency of the beautiful pie in the picture. I also recommend following another reviewer's idea and covering the edges of your crust with foil prior to broiling so your crust doesn't blacken. Very easy and delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
This was excellent. Next time I will use 3 cps. of cream as the pie was a little shallow. I'll also try using part Splenda to cut down on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I had never heard of this pie either but am a Vanilla-Fiend, so it sounded scrumptious! Turned out perfectly and filled 9" pie pan. After reading other reviewer's comments I made a couple of additions/changes: used 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 white and added extra 1/4 c of white as I LOVE sweet things! Used 1 cup heavy cream from fridge and the rest of the 1 1/4 c was whole milk. Cooked in HEAVY saucepan on med+ heat stirring constantly with silicone-covered whisk and at near boil it thickened beautifully!! Perfection! Sprinkled top with melted butter and white and brown sugars for creme brulee-type crust. Cooled in fridge for a couple hours til I couldn't stand the wait anymore and it cut cleanly and left the pan in a perfect slice! The whole thing was wildly tasty goodness! Next time I think I'll skip the crust entirely - Not necessary and detracts from supreme creaminess of filling. No cinnamon used, as I wanted vanilla to shine (which it did). New favorite dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddysgrl_1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I'm a born and raised Texan, never heard of this pie, but I was looking for some different pie recipes and decided to give this a whirl. My kids now beg for it. I've made it twice, once with regular milk and once with heavy cream-I never have half-n-half. The richer the milk the better the pie, that's all I have to say. It was good with regular milk, but with the cream it was incredibly rich and creamy, and almost like a great chocolate mousse if it were vanilla instead of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is so easy, and oh so good! My sister had been making this for awhile and when I asked for her recipe, this is the one she sent. It's very good. No changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Light and tasty. An Indiana tradition. This is probably the best I've had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States