Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I had never heard of this pie either but am a Vanilla-Fiend, so it sounded scrumptious! Turned out perfectly and filled 9" pie pan. After reading other reviewer's comments I made a couple of additions/changes: used 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 white and added extra 1/4 c of white as I LOVE sweet things! Used 1 cup heavy cream from fridge and the rest of the 1 1/4 c was whole milk. Cooked in HEAVY saucepan on med+ heat stirring constantly with silicone-covered whisk and at near boil it thickened beautifully!! Perfection! Sprinkled top with melted butter and white and brown sugars for creme brulee-type crust. Cooled in fridge for a couple hours til I couldn't stand the wait anymore and it cut cleanly and left the pan in a perfect slice! The whole thing was wildly tasty goodness! Next time I think I'll skip the crust entirely - Not necessary and detracts from supreme creaminess of filling. No cinnamon used, as I wanted vanilla to shine (which it did). New favorite dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddysgrl_1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I'm a born and raised Texan, never heard of this pie, but I was looking for some different pie recipes and decided to give this a whirl. My kids now beg for it. I've made it twice, once with regular milk and once with heavy cream-I never have half-n-half. The richer the milk the better the pie, that's all I have to say. It was good with regular milk, but with the cream it was incredibly rich and creamy, and almost like a great chocolate mousse if it were vanilla instead of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is so easy, and oh so good! My sister had been making this for awhile and when I asked for her recipe, this is the one she sent. It's very good. No changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Light and tasty. An Indiana tradition. This is probably the best I've had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This recipe was really good, but I did make a few changes. I used half brown sugar and half white sugar instead of all white sugar, and then before I put the pie under the broiler, I sprinkled the top with a little bit of brown and white sugar to make a creme brulee type crust and that made it delish! Next time I might reduce the sugar and use a vanilla wafer crust instead of just a regular pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
YUMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!! Wouldn't change a single thing about this recipe! Truly delicious! Never had sugar cream pie before but we'll definately be having it again. Next time, I'll cover the edges w/foil before I broil but that's the only change on this one! WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFKULP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I have been making this recipe for five years now and it has earned its place in my family cookbook. I no longer bother with a pie crust but serve it as a custard. I have always used heavy cream. This makes it very rich but perfect for spooning over fruit. I have used it over peaches, apricots, strawberries and tinned boysenberries and blackberries. For a really elegant dessert cover the base of a dish with tinned berries and a little syrup from the can, then cover in the custard and swirl so the colour comes through. I served that for a wedding and had everyone remark on how delicious it was and ask what was in it. Another great adaption is to stir 1/4 to 1/2 a cup of Malibu into it. It adds a lovely coconut flavour. If you have trouble with it sticking to the bottom of your pot and burning, cook it in a double-boiler. And if it doesn't thicken enough, add more cornflour (mix it with a little cream first). It won't affect the taste. I can never get the broiling part right so I just don't bother and it's still one of the best desserts I've ever eaten, even including restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This pie is delish. I followed the recipe to the 'T'. Though it does not taste like our favorite Wick's pie, it is good in its own right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was my first attempt at sugar cream pie and it was wonderful. It came together quickly and easily. All four people who tried it, loved it. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Made this for Christmas 08. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondie9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States