Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GRmaggy
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
This will now become my own family comfort pie! I've always wanted one and this one couldn't be better. So easy to make. It's like magic when it thickens. Such a happy pie! So delicious and comforting and....I'm off to make another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRmaggy
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This recipe is amazing I doubled the recipe and added 1 tbsp extra corn starch and it set up perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This was great and easy, I decided to get a little crazy by adding a mushed banana to the pie crust before pouring in the filling. I also added some peanut butter powder to the sugar and cornstarch in the beginning. YUM, Peanut Butter Banana sugar cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andie
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Wonderful , creamy perfection...the only thing I did different was add nutmeg and cinnamon on top..love the butter drizzle under broiler . Took it to the next level and I'm a Hoosier !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My mom always used to make sugar cream pie. It's been years since she's made it (she can no longer cook) so I'd forgotten about it, but I came across her recipe. It's very similar to this, but she used full whipping cream instead of half-and-half, and 1/4 cup cornstarch. You should get much better results if you make those changes. Flour changes the taste and texture in a manner I don't like, and I would NEVER omit the vanilla extract! Regardless of whether it "evaporates" (the only part that does is the alcohol), it gives it that nice vanilla taste that makes it a sugar cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
a little too sweet for me. not sure I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Sugar cream pie is my favorite...this recipe is delicious.!! I was wanting to know if anyone has ever tried a topping on this you have I'd love to know what you used....THANKS...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Barnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My husband tends to not tell me things until the last minute. I was working on homework when I got the text from one of his co workers saying they were having a bake sale the next morning and asked what he was taking. What? Umm, I had not been to the store in a week, it is nine o'clock at night, and my ingredients are almost nothing. So then I remembered a recipe I used to make when I was younger. Yup, born and raised in Indiana. Sugar Cream pie it has hardly anything in it and cooks up fast. Done and done. I couldn't think of the exact measurements so I found this recipe and based mine off it. The only things I did different was I used real vanilla bean, three cracked cardamon seeds, and I topped it with Sugar a couple raspberries and torched it. Oh and doubled it. The pies turned out awesome, set up in no time, and placed in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Foran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steven Bradner
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Great recipe. Thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Bradner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made this pie last night for my sons birthday. Per his request. I never tried Sugar Cream Pie because it never looked that appealing. Now that I have made it and eaten it, I love it! It's my new favorite pie. I can't wait to make it for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States