Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I am a Hoosier who grew up with greatest Sugar Cream pies thanks to Mrs. Wick's in Winchester, IN, as well. This is a wonderful recipe. I lessened the sugar to 2/3 a cup and it tastes great! Some words to the wise: Cook sugar/half&half mixture on medium to medium high, but don't let it burn and don't stop stirring! For those of you who couldn't get it to turn, keep stirring and be patient, as it takes a little time to happen, but when it does, it's magic! And when they say "Watch Carefully when it's under Broiler", they mean it! It could take as little as twenty or thirty seconds to bubble. (I left mine in for one minute and it burned the butter covering so I had to fix it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
We loved it! They were not kidding when they said that the mixture needed to be cooked at a high temperature. At first, I cooked it at a mid temperature and it never got to that consistency needed. When I turned the temperature up, it thickened quickly. Thanks for the advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Funny story. So, while I'm reading the reviews, preparing to make this for our New Years Day dinner, I saw that someone mentioned wanting to try adding bananas next time....and yet another person mentioned drizzling with chocolate syrup and it would taste like an eclair! So I thought to myself, "Hey! Why not add BOTH banana AND chocolate syrup and end up with a sundae pie!" Right? So I send my poor hubby to the store for a banana, since now I don't have all the ingredients! He was hijacked or something at the local market and ended up taking an HOUR to get back with the banana! In the meantime, I had started cooking this mixture and it (very suddenly!) became the right consistency! Shoot! Still no banana! Poured it into the GRAHAM crust and remembered that I hadn't added the vanilla! ("Where's that BANANA?", I'm thinking!) So while I was waiting (argh!) I put the vanilla into a little kitchen spray bottle that I have and gently misted the top of the pie! (by this time you're probably thinking I have never cooked a thing in my life, right?) LOL When he (finally) got home, I sliced the banana (resisted rapping him up-side the head with it!) and arranged slices on top of the vanilla misted pie! Dab of whipped cream, drizzle of syrup and a cherry on top. Even after ALL of this, the pie was AWESOME! So I gave 5 stars because I KNOW that if it wasn't for this recipe, it COULD NOT have been possible! Note to self: Make hubby take kids along next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Perry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
My husband made this for me and we both loved it, though I though it was a bit too sweet. Next time, we'll add only 2/3 cup sugar. We didnt have half-and-half cream, so we used half heavy cream and half milk (which is what half-and-half is anyway). I'd eat the filling as a pudding by itself if I could! As for the 1-star rating below, if you cook a mixture with corn starch too long or over too high heat, the thickening agents will no longer work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I have never had sugar cream pie but I have relatives from Marion, Oh that speak of it often. I decided to try this recipe and while I have no idea if this is how sugar cream pie is supposed to look and taste, I do know that it was delicious. Light, creamy, and custard like it has a wonderfully comfort flavor to it. Really enjoyable. I cookedi it to a pudding consistency and it only needed about a minute under broiler. Chilled for a few hours and set to a custard consistency. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I'm from Indiana and my grandmother was famous for her sugar cream pie. Here are some tips to make it turn out. Substitute flour for the cornstarch-it will thicken up no matter how long you stir it-and let it boil and thicken up on the burner (while you stir it) until it thickens and is creamy. Grandma never used the cinnamon or the vanilla (it evaporates anyways) and she used 2 1/2 cups of cream or evaporated milk. Bake at 325 for about 30 minutes on a cookie sheet and be careful to watch it the last five minutes so it doesn't start boiling over and ruining the pie. Once it starts to boil, take it out, it's done. Cool completely before cutting and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Again another Hoosier here. I loved my grandmother's sugar cream pie and never could find a recipe close to hers till now. Thanks even my New Yorker husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
We're Hoosiers who are now living in VA and missing Mrs. Wicks sugar cream pie - but not now - this recipe is great and so easy to make -- a new family hit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I made this to take to work. all other recipes i tried Ive baked the filling in the pie crust. it was gone in a flash someone told me he had'nt had a sugar cream pie like that since his grandma past away 10 years ago. tastes almost like a cream brule. used good vanilla paste in recipe cooked till pudding consistancy on med heat. This is my only sugar cream pie recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Thank you C. Banes for making my Thanksgiving dinner a huge success!! Sugar Cream Pie is my husband's favorite dessert and we have not been able to purchase it in the South!! Your recipe was very detailed, easy to follow and much better than a store-bought pie!! Thank you again! 11/01
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States