Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I have been making this recipe for five years now and it has earned its place in my family cookbook. I no longer bother with a pie crust but serve it as a custard. I have always used heavy cream. This makes it very rich but perfect for spooning over fruit. I have used it over peaches, apricots, strawberries and tinned boysenberries and blackberries. For a really elegant dessert cover the base of a dish with tinned berries and a little syrup from the can, then cover in the custard and swirl so the colour comes through. I served that for a wedding and had everyone remark on how delicious it was and ask what was in it. Another great adaption is to stir 1/4 to 1/2 a cup of Malibu into it. It adds a lovely coconut flavour. If you have trouble with it sticking to the bottom of your pot and burning, cook it in a double-boiler. And if it doesn't thicken enough, add more cornflour (mix it with a little cream first). It won't affect the taste. I can never get the broiling part right so I just don't bother and it's still one of the best desserts I've ever eaten, even including restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This pie is delish. I followed the recipe to the 'T'. Though it does not taste like our favorite Wick's pie, it is good in its own right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was my first attempt at sugar cream pie and it was wonderful. It came together quickly and easily. All four people who tried it, loved it. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Wurtz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Made this for Christmas 08. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondie9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I forgot the vanilla - so it turned out a little 'plain' but oh SO GOOD. My husband and I kept coming up with other ings that we could put in it next time (becuase there will be many more next times with this pie) - you could add any extract and it would make an EXCELLENT cream pie, coconut, maple, rum, or even add some pineapple, etc. So smooth, creamy - I used Marie Calendar's ready made pie crust and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is great! I really didn't know what to expect since I've never had a sugar cream pie before. My eight year old asked that I make a vanilla pie of some sort and I found this recipe. Needless to say it was a hit and then some. Took the advise to make a couple of days in advance and it was nice and firm when I served for Thanksgiving. My daughter and rest of the family raved about it. I would compare it to a custard pie. Very smooth and sweet. Would not change a thing. Thank you, I will be making this for Christmas for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ketchme71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I thought this was very good. It did take a long time to thicken. I used a 9" pie pan and it filled it nice and full. I refrigerated it overnight and it sliced nicely and held its shape. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is a delicious pie! I have to give the pie recipe 4 stars based on the instructions though. I followed the directions exactly...to start with, but had to change things once i got started making the pie. I had to stir the filling for about 5-7 minutes before it started to thicken. The instructions weren't clear on the time it takes to thicken the filling. I then poured the filling into the crust and it only filled up about half the crust. It didn't look nice. So I haved the recipe and made more filling and dumped that on top of the other filling. This time the pie was filled up nicely. I love broiling the pie as it gives the top a pretty golden color and a delicious flavor. Watch the broiler though...mine took less than 5 minutes. The pie set up beautifully and looked picture perfect when I cut into it about 7 hours later. My husband is the sugar cream guy and thought it was super good, but could have been sweeter. I thought it was just right...not too sweet and very mellow. With my changes on preparation it is a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this recipe today and served it with dinner tonight. I have to say it is delicious! Even my hubby who said "I don't like that kind of pie" ate it and asked if there was more! I prefer a deeper dish pie and most my plates are larger ones so I adjusted the recipe for 10 servings. It worked perfectly :) While this pie tastes very similar to the Wick's pie, it has a much smoother texture and fresher taste. This will become a favorite! Thank you for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Mmmm... turned out really good. I was actually not making a pie, but poured the mixture into little ramekins over peices of pear. The pears should have been cooked a little before hand, but other wise it was really good. I didn't have cream so used all milk, and I added a tiny bit of extra butter, as well as a bit more sugar. The whole procces probably only took about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pastorswife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States