Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Tasty! I didn't care for the texture the broiler gave the top of the pie so next time I'll skip it and just add a layer of whipped cream instead. I made 1 1/2 times the recipe for one pie. Good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I made this pie for some friends who had never heard of sugar cream pie before. I am from Indiana and grew up eating this dessert. This recipe was "okay", it tasted about right, but it was to creamy for real sugar cream pie. The pie should be firmer in texture. I will keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Made this for 4th of July. Pies are a tradition at our family gathering and I wanted to try something new. I followed the recipe exactly as written (except I sprinkled the pie with cinnamon sugar rather than cinnamon). My family loved it!! Next time I have to make two because the one disappeared so fast! The custard-like texture was delicious! My two year old probably could have eaten the whole pie if I had let her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELGAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Simple, easy, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
taseted good but the recipe did not indicate how long to cook it for or indicate how "thick" it should be... mine is still runny after I cooked it on the stove top till it was "thick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omahataxidriver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Really Good! Pie. Made on vacation in an unknown kitchen and it came out perfect. Great the next day cold from the frige. Compliments from the landlords. Did not drizzle all that butter on top. Dotted with just a few small pieces of butter. Then baked for 12 minutes on the lower rack in the oven at 350 degrees instead of broiling (afraid of ruining the crust). It bubbled in the oven and came out perfect as far as I'm concerned. Solid in the middle, creamy. Loved the cinnamon instead of nutmeg flavor. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great pie! It was a bit more custardy than I'm used to (I'm used to the sturdy sugar cream) but the taste was wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very good recipe. I put a little nutmeg in the cream mixture, & I used nutmeg in place of the cinnamon on top of the pie. Next time I make this I will skip the butter on top, & skip putting the pie under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Do not put the sugar and constarch in the pot that is hot first.. LOL. It tastes good right now, but its cooling. I did not do the topping part under the broiler. thanks you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States