Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Simple, easy, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
taseted good but the recipe did not indicate how long to cook it for or indicate how "thick" it should be... mine is still runny after I cooked it on the stove top till it was "thick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omahataxidriver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Really Good! Pie. Made on vacation in an unknown kitchen and it came out perfect. Great the next day cold from the frige. Compliments from the landlords. Did not drizzle all that butter on top. Dotted with just a few small pieces of butter. Then baked for 12 minutes on the lower rack in the oven at 350 degrees instead of broiling (afraid of ruining the crust). It bubbled in the oven and came out perfect as far as I'm concerned. Solid in the middle, creamy. Loved the cinnamon instead of nutmeg flavor. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great pie! It was a bit more custardy than I'm used to (I'm used to the sturdy sugar cream) but the taste was wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very good recipe. I put a little nutmeg in the cream mixture, & I used nutmeg in place of the cinnamon on top of the pie. Next time I make this I will skip the butter on top, & skip putting the pie under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Do not put the sugar and constarch in the pot that is hot first.. LOL. It tastes good right now, but its cooling. I did not do the topping part under the broiler. thanks you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I'm not allowed to show up for Thanksgiving anymore without this pie since I started making it from this recipe in 2009. No matter what the other dessert selections, from my own oven or otherwise, this is the one that goes and goes fast. I know to make two, because one is just a tease. I had never heard of Sugar Cream Pie, until a friend from Indiana mentioned it as being as much a staple at dessert as coffee and tea. The first time I made it (and I could NOT believe the simplicity) I had also spent hours and hours on a hundred ingredients and a thousand steps, making the infamous Momofuku Milk Bar Crack Pie. As delicious as that concoction was, there were leftovers because people went back for seconds and thirds of the Sugar Cream. On behalf of my foodie Italian family (and we're New Yorkers -- we'll tell you when you displease us) THANK YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cas in NYC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I love this pie, it has officially become a staple for my family at Thanksgiving and Christmas. It has such a great texture and taste. Want people to think you are a pie genius? then I highly recommend you bring this pie to any gathering I followed the instructions to a T, no substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I'm from Indiana and my grandmother was famous for her sugar cream pie. Here are some tips to make it turn out. Substitute flour for the cornstarch-it will thicken up no matter how long you stir it-and let it boil and thicken up on the burner (while you stir it) until it thickens and is creamy. Grandma never used the cinnamon or the vanilla (it evaporates anyways) and she used 2 1/2 cups of cream or evaporated milk. Bake at 325 for about 30 minutes on a cookie sheet and be careful to watch it the last five minutes so it doesn't start boiling over and ruining the pie. Once it starts to boil, take it out, it's done. Cool completely before cutting and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karensue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Love this old fashion taste that I remember a a kid going to Lytle's in Leesburg, Ohio. I'm not sure if this is similar to their recipe but it tastes that way to me. I did a couple of changes. First, I prebake the crust at 450 for 5 minutes. I turn down the temp the minute I add the crust to over so it will decrease to 325. I make the pie mixture according to recipe. I then pour the mixture into the prebaked pie shell. I sprinkle with nutmeg and pour 2 T. of melted butter on top. Then I bake at 325 for 40 minutes. We cut into it after it cools for 30 minutes. Last for a few days. My family loves it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALSART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States