Sugar Cream Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
This recipe is amazing I doubled the recipe and added 1 tbsp extra corn starch and it set up perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This was great and easy, I decided to get a little crazy by adding a mushed banana to the pie crust before pouring in the filling. I also added some peanut butter powder to the sugar and cornstarch in the beginning. YUM, Peanut Butter Banana sugar cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andie
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Wonderful , creamy perfection...the only thing I did different was add nutmeg and cinnamon on top..love the butter drizzle under broiler . Took it to the next level and I'm a Hoosier !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My mom always used to make sugar cream pie. It's been years since she's made it (she can no longer cook) so I'd forgotten about it, but I came across her recipe. It's very similar to this, but she used full whipping cream instead of half-and-half, and 1/4 cup cornstarch. You should get much better results if you make those changes. Flour changes the taste and texture in a manner I don't like, and I would NEVER omit the vanilla extract! Regardless of whether it "evaporates" (the only part that does is the alcohol), it gives it that nice vanilla taste that makes it a sugar cream pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
a little too sweet for me. not sure I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Sugar cream pie is my favorite...this recipe is delicious.!! I was wanting to know if anyone has ever tried a topping on this you have I'd love to know what you used....THANKS...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Barnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My husband tends to not tell me things until the last minute. I was working on homework when I got the text from one of his co workers saying they were having a bake sale the next morning and asked what he was taking. What? Umm, I had not been to the store in a week, it is nine o'clock at night, and my ingredients are almost nothing. So then I remembered a recipe I used to make when I was younger. Yup, born and raised in Indiana. Sugar Cream pie it has hardly anything in it and cooks up fast. Done and done. I couldn't think of the exact measurements so I found this recipe and based mine off it. The only things I did different was I used real vanilla bean, three cracked cardamon seeds, and I topped it with Sugar a couple raspberries and torched it. Oh and doubled it. The pies turned out awesome, set up in no time, and placed in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah Foran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steven Bradner
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Great recipe. Thick and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Bradner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I made this pie last night for my sons birthday. Per his request. I never tried Sugar Cream Pie because it never looked that appealing. Now that I have made it and eaten it, I love it! It's my new favorite pie. I can't wait to make it for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I added 1 c toasted sweetened coconut to this as suggested and it was gone within minutes. So delish. Tastes a lot like rice pudding (sans rice). I have made it half a dozen times because it is so easy! Love it with or without coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States