Sugar Cookies X Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
These are fabulous! My husband just asked me to make sugar cookies. Well, the last time I tried they didn't turn out very well, so I was a bit hesitant. I decided to look online for a recipe, and this one appealed to me the most. I'm glad I found this recipe! These were wonderful - soft and yummy. Easy to make too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Tasty and pretty. Only caveat is be aware these are not suitable for sugar cookie cut outs, even after chilling. They spread like crazy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
these were delicious. i used to make cut-out frosted Christmas cookies. they turned out very buttery, a nice mix of salty-sweet and were perfectly complemented by the land o' lakes buttercream frosting a previous reviewer recommended. my only issue was that for some reason my dough was a bit sticky so i added a whole cup of flour, which didn't alter the recipe too much. i suggest keeping the dough in the fridge that you aren't using until you roll it out so it's easier to roll. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I was sitting here watching CNN waiting for the Obama/McCain debate when into my mind, sugar cookies appeared. I got on my computer to find a "recipe, brown edge sugar cookies" thinking it would turn up nothing since the subject was too long and that I would probably end up on a porn site. I could not have been more wrong but to find this Heavenly recipe for the best sugar cookies I ever made. I checked the larder and found: No butter! Since my wife is at work, my son is at the "Y" and I being legally blind, (unable to drive) I sought out a substitute. Aha! One stick of margarine and the scrapings in an old can of Crisco. I quickly combined the ingredients thinking that even though they would not exactly be up to snuff, I would eat anything with flour and sugar. I went back to the television to await the cooling period. Exactly 1/2 hour later, I pulled the dough from the fridge and started the ball rolling so to speak. Oh my! To my dismay, the dough was so soft, but I continued on anyway. 10 minutes later, I checked the oven to see to my surprise, 6 inch sugar cookies with perfect brown edges. I let them cool for a few minutes then let them set on brown paper. The only problem was 12 cookies on that sheet was too many and the edges were imperfect. So, what is any good baker to do? Yup, I ate the first dozen and they were heavenly. When I finish, I will take a picture of them and post it here. I can't wait to get some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
i made these with vegan replacements, and they were pretty good. i didn't use cream of tartar and have no idea what that would have added. i mean, shocker, they were tasty because there's a friggin' CUP of butter. but they were really thin and i sort of prefer a thicker, chewier cookie... i didn't have to chill my dough at all, and i used raw cane sugar instead of white which i think made them tastier. anyway overall pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
excellent taste. I like the sugar drop cookie recipe on this site for a more durable crispy cookie. Kids love them, but they are delicate. Followed recipe exactly made 2 doz. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! I used it to make snickerdoodles and baked a few without rolling them in cinnamon/sugar and they're the best sugar cookie I've ever had (well, to this point in my life). It makes a lot, but that's okay, because I'm taking these to work to share with everyone...if they last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
My daughter and her aunt made these together. They turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Delicious!! These were exactly what I was looking for! My first batch I baked for 8 minutes and they came out very soft. My next batches I baked for about 11 minutes because I wanted a sturdier cookie so I could frost them. These are delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is the best recipe for cookies ever. And, I made them vegan using egg replacer, soy-milk and a fake-butter! They are perfect and taste delicious. Ice them with your favorite vegan frosting and they are the best. I baked them for 10 minutes, they will be very soft when they first come out of the oven but just wait a few minutes o move them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States