Sugar Cookies with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I these with pink frosting for Valentine gifts. They are fabulous!! Freeze well, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My kids and I made this recipe the other night. It was tough to wait two hours for the dough to chill, but well worth the wait. These sugar cookies are not too sweet, which is great if you are pairing them with royal icing. This recipe is a winner. We will use it time and time again. One note: I rolled the cookies out to about 1/4 inch thickness. I prefer a thicker cookie, this way the edges don't burn when you cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Great cookies and easy to make. I used colored sugar on the frosting to add some holiday color. They have become my favorite out of all the cookies I made this year. They are sweet without being too sweet and a holiday classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER_ARTISTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
This recipe is definitely what I rated it 5 stars! just the right amount of sweetness! I ran into this recipe because I lost my old Xmas cookie recipe but it turned out great because I found this recipe, which is wonderful! Thanks Diane for sharing and Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I loved the cookie and icing - received raves for them. I modify it for the seasons, e.g. add citrus to orange frosting for pumpkins, pink frosted hearts for valentine's day, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I used the frosting recipe...and it was amazing! i have tried so many different recipes for icing and none of them have been satisfactory... let alone as yummy as yours diane! thank you so much! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
The cookies were very soft and had great flavor. I used premade frosting instead of making frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I only used the cookie recipe but these cookies were FABULOUS! A very soft flavorful cookie. I did add about 1 tsp of lemon juice to the mixture. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
these cookies are amazing! They become puffy once cooked but still have that pretty white color. With the frosting they taste like the cookies that you can buy in the bakery section of Wal Mart or grocery stores! Much better to make at home than buy at Wal Mart!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
The cookies are wonderful, buttery and light. They bake up very fast so get an assembly line going. Frosting was good too. My family loved them and we went thru 3 dozen in two days!Just made another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States