Sugar Cookies with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Made this recipe for Christmas cookies and they were fabulous! I chilled the dough overnight and made the cookies the next day. I added a couple of cups of confectioner suger and 1/2 cup crisco to turn the frosting into decorator frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Wonderful for cut outs!! The cookies held the cut out shapes, no spreading. I did add 1/2 tsp more vanilla. cooked them for about 5mins. Turned out perfect! This is now my go to recipe for sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I had cookies that were dry and flavorless and the icing was bland and stiff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These cookies rose too much. I also didn't try the frosting. They tasted ok. I guess my only complaint was they didn't hold their shape as well as other recipes I've tried because they rose and expanded while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Fantastic recipe for both cookie and frosting. For those that dont know, most butter cream frostings from stores are made with shortening and NOT butter. They have to produce it with a longer "use" life and I tell you, this is tops. I have made half recipes in the past week and both times- came out perfect and I HATE making sugar cookies because of the time involved but I make the frosting first- then the dough- when i get ready to bake i take the frosting out to room soften. I also use the butter flavored shortening instead of the flavoring- works great. Better than bakery bought cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I simply used butter in place of shortening and butter flavoring in the frosting. Delicious! These cookies had a perfect consistency for rolling and shaping. Will definitely make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made these cookies and frosting last night with my kids. It's a great recipe all the way around. I followed the directions and had no problems. We even colored the icing and found it to be easy to work with. The next morning the frosting was firmer, but still soft and yummy. My 5 y/o son was able to roll out the dough and use his cookie cutters. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I couldn't use this recipe with the sugar cookies that I made (the recipe for which is also on this site, the "best rolled sugar cookies"). They just did not go well together at all. This could be because, unlike usual, I did not read the reviews first and I just mixed everything together for a quick and simply icing. WAY TOO MUCH VANILLA. To compensate, I tried adding more powered sugar but the damage was already done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is the BEST! And I have tried a lot of recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
These are the best sugar cookies I have ever made (I did not use this frosting). They whip together easy, roll out perfect, and bake up beautifully. Not to mention that they taste wonderful. One batch makes about 15 4-inch cookies and I baked them at 375 degrees for 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zarahemla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States