Sugar Cookies VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
These cookies were pretty good, but nothing to write home about. You can't expect amazing cookies unless you're willing to go the extra mile and try one of the other sugar cookie recipes that have 15 different ingredients in them. I picked these cookies because it's a very simple recipe and I had all the ingredients on hand. The only thing I didn't like too much was that the dough was really thick and I had a hard time working with it. Because of the other reviews, I didn't roll out the dough or cut shapes. I just dropped them and they came out perfectly shaped. Crispy on the outside with a soft, chewey inside. Overall, these were good cookies. Perfect for the house, but if I needed a batch to impress, I would try one of the more elaborate recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I love this recipe. I'm vegan, so I had to replace the butter with spread and the eggs with flax seeds, and it still turned out wonderfully. The cookies did rise quite a bit during baking, but I don't think it affected the cutout shapes too much. Even if it did -- the taste is worth it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Flat and not shaped the way I cut them. The taste was not that great either. I used room temp butter, room temp eggs, and froze the dough before I rolled it. They rose so much that the shape of my Halloween cookies disappeared and then they fell and were as flat as a crepe. I followed the recipe and reviewed if afterwards to see if I had done something incorrectly, but I cannot find anywhere where I goofed. Good luck with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
These were pretty good sugar cookies. I dropped them instead of rolling them out and they made for very soft cookies. I do feel that they had a bit of plain taste that might be improved by frosting the cookies. Do try these though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Wonderfully yummy cookies! The Valentine heart cut-out shape I used was distorted because the dough spread out too much while baking, but the texture and taste of the cookies more than made up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I used 1/2 butter, 1/2 butter flavored Crisco shortning in the recipe, and refrigerated the dough for a couple of hours. I didn't roll them, but I put rounded pieces of dough onto cookie sheets and baked them. I had no problems with them spreading at all..chewy/crispy at the same time. The whole family loved them...couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
these were great! i loved the buttery taste, but if i make these again, i would try to use 1/2 the butter amount. my cookies did not freeze well, and after a few hours i decided to spoon drop them instead. the guys loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Best sugar cookie recipe I've ever made. The cookies are the perfect combination of crispy and soft. I won't be looking for a sugar cookie recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
I can finally end my search for the best sugar cookie recipe! Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
About the best sugar cookies I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States