Sugar Cookies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
We love these cookies! Every year I try a different sugar cookie recipe for Christmas, but I think this is the one I will continue to use. We doubled the recipe but used the amount of vanilla for a single batch, and the flavor seemed perfect. My teenagers cut them out and decorated them, and they are ready to be given as gifts (if they last that long).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I love this recipe and so does everyone in my family and all of my friends. A little trick my mom taught me for rolling out the dough is putting some flour in the area I'm rolling out in so the dough doesn't stick. Works like a charm every time. A cookie that does not last long and the flavour is nice and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I've never been a big fan of sugar cookies, but these are by far the best I've ever had! My husband and I could not stop eating them, and between the two of us, they disappeared within a week. The only change I made to this recipe was adding 1 tsp. of almond extract. Delicious! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was my first attempt at making sugar cookies and they turned out really good...tasted like tea cakes. They turn out huge in the oven! I don't have a rolling pin though and just flattened with hands and cut with cookie cutters after chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Very good taste and texture! They are like the ones that we get from the local bakery. A tip for some who have trouble rolling and cutting: flatten dough out on a plastic cutting board and place in freezer for several minutes and use different size biscuit cutters for cutting, then bake for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Awesome. will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
First time making ANY home made cookies and these taste awesome. They stay soft and chewy AND they were so much fun to decorate! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I was going to wait to review this recipe until I had used it again, but then decided to post my results/mistake in the possibility that it might help someone else. I only had large granule white sugar and dark brown sugar so I used them instead of normal sugar and light brown. The cookies that were baked for only 10 minutes had a gummy/cardboardy texture, and the ones that baked for longer were crispy to the point of being too crispy. They were, however, good in milk. I added a little ground ginger and cinnamon to half the dough, and enjoyed the flavor more than without the extra spices. If I get around to baking again with fine white sugar and light brown sugar I will post results and compare the two batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dagwood17

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
We loved these cookies! I did use the vanilla, and just for a bit of spice I added 1/4 tsp of ginger and 1sp of cinnamon. You really do have to chill the dough and the trays, and work fast. I used powdered sugar instead of flour to prevent sticking and I really think it worked well and added a little extra to the flavour. Thanks Galia for sharing this fun, easy recipe. My little one had a ball using the cookie cutters and decorating then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
These are good and have a wonderful flavor but I the dough becomes really floury very fast. I would also not bake them for the full 10 minutes. I was leaving them in the oven about 7 minutes and that seemd just right but then I was using an older stove and it might run hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States