Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is perfect for topping my MIL's famous sugar cookies! I used 2 T. of milk and substituted vanilla for the almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by enlightenedfood
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I like this recipe, and so does my family. As many times as I've made it, I've never been able to get it to the correct consistency until about 4 teaspoons of milk. I used 1/2 teaspoon of clear vanilla extract and piped using a disposable piping bag with no tip (just snip the end) I would recommend this method of application for both piping details and covering the whole cookie(just snip a little larger opening if covering the whole cookie). Turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enlightenedfood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is my 3rd year using this recipe!!! I love, love, love it. 1/2 of my cookies leave my house, and this icing just makes it so much easier for family to take home their treasures after an afternoon of decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Barrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Due to a milk allergy and not having corn syrup on hand, I had to adapt this recipe and used coconut milk and I made a simple sugar syrup. Usually I don't have a problem substituting plain coconut milk for milk but it didn't have enough liquid and it's still dry icing sugar and didn't resemble anything like icing. I had to add another 3tsp of coconut milk and 1 tsp of sugar syrup to get the constancy needed. In the end it was great and something I'll use for future sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was visually a beautiful icing. Colored with gel colors. The icing set up beautifully in a short time and made the cookies stackable. However, it is not tasty. Very artificial tasting probably because of the corn syrup. I tried it with the almond extract and substituting fresh lemon juice. You also need to add quite a bit more milk to get a spreadable consistency. You can mix it in a stand mixer which was helpful time wise. I will continue to search for a good icing recipe so the cookies will taste as good as they look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Just found this recipe the other day and decided to try it on my Christmas sugar cookies. It is so easy to make and my cookies came out beautiful. I did have to add more corn syrup as stated in the directions. I was able to pipe the icing on and use a brush without any problems. The icing dries nicely so that I could store them easily all together in one container. I decided to use vanilla in place of the almond flavor and it turned out great. I will have to experiment with other flavors next time I make it. Thanks so much for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weaubleau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
All those reviews and I never tried until this year. EXCELLENT! Did anyone say this recipe is great? I will ALWAYS use this recipe for frosted cookies in the future. I made a double batch and then made another double batch of another color. I used 1/2 and 1/2 milk and about doubled the amount to get the consistency right. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Fool Proof! I have never done anything like this before, so I was really worried. Somehow I completely mis-measured things, and then I was just adding liquids or sugar to get whatever consistency I thought was right. Then I ended up leaving it for a bit (covered) and it dried out, so I just added a little milk thinking this was never going to work out. But despite all my mistakes it was absolutely great! It dries pretty fast, but it's not so hard that it breaks your teeth. I added a little peppermint oil and it was great on my ginger bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This worked as described. I added a tsp extra milk to make it a little thinner since I used gel colours instead of liquid colour. I can't give it 5 stars because it doesn't taste like anything except icing sugar, not very appetizing but it looks beautiful and packs well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Quick and easy! Be careful when you add the milk. Too much milk, and the icing gets drippy. Nice flavor with almond extract. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States