Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This recipe is fool proof! It does need to be thinned out so I use 2 or 3 teaspoons of milk to 1 teaspoon of corn syrup until I get the consistency of glue or shampoo. This recipe also "softens" a hard sugar cookie...cookie soaks up moisture. The painting method was tedious and sloppy so I use two methods. Dip the face of cookie into prepared bowl of icing. Let it dry on cooling rack. Excess icing will drip off cookie. Make sure you put paper towels under rack. Second method takes more time but a neater, more professional looking cookie. Wilton icing bottles or sandwich baggies with tiny bit of corner cut off. Line the edges of cookie, let dry. Fill in using stripes of frosting, spread to fill space with toothpick or small icing spatula. We all LOVE the almond flavoring. Buy really good quality extract. It makes a difference. Also I have only used this with gel concentrate food colorings. Wilson's gel colorings are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Parksion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocodejichef
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great! My sister and I had so much fun making these cookies and the icing finished off in a very pretty shiny glaze. It dries hard and it doesn't taste bad. I would recommend this recipe to anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anewport
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
So easy! So yummy! Loved how shiny it was when dried and yes watch out, it dries quickly so you if you plan on using sprinkles do it right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I can't get the milk and sugar smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This recipe works like magic. It's the first time for me making icing and I couldn't figure out how so much sugar and so little fluid could turn into a glossy white sugar icing. But it was like magic- one minute I'm stirring clumpy white sugar, and in a second the sugar turns into a glossy, gel like bowl of icing. Fun! I set the quantity to 24 cookies and I had enough icing to decorate 42 gingerbread stars, so a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Li

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I ran out of corn syrup so I used honey instead. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This frosting did not work at all. Once the liquid was added to the 1 cup confect. sugar I had just 1/3 cup of frosting which was too stiff to spread. Warming it made it spreadable but all the small lumps would not smooth out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Wolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I loved this recipe! It has a very strong flavor of almond extract(I used half of the recommended amount).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Worked beautifully just as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I had to add about 1-2Tbsp more of milk, but I love this recipe for cookies. It doesn't separate like the recipes that include Crisco and milk. Looks awesome on cookies, just like the photo shows! Dries shiny. I put our cookies into a ziplock bag and on the counter... I should've put them into the refrigerator because the frosting started to stick to the plastic. Also, this frosting tastes really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States