Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe, especially when paired with the top rated sugar cookie recipe. Absolutely amazing! You can tweak the ingredients to make it as thick or thin as you want for all you icing and piping needs! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Kathryn Daily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I like to never got the icing to look like real icing. It was so stiff and difficult to stir. I was pretty frustrated. There has to be something i did wrong. Tasted good and spreads well finally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Mulford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
It didn't taste right. It wasn't glossy. The texture was too difficult to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lyon, Rhône-Alpes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Excellent! Used several times now on the Sugar Cookie Cutouts recipe on this site by GLJCAT and the two compliment one another beautifully, producing an attractive and tasty cookie that is not too sweet. Is now my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Great royal icing. The trick is in adding the right amount of liquid so it's the right mix of spreadable but not runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Really like this. We used mint extract as an option to almond or vanilla. I did find the icing a bit stiff and hard to spread, but heating it up for a few seconds in the microwave made it spreadable - yet still able to harden. Works well (even w/o heating) when using decorating syringe for details. Best is the icing is hard enough to stack cookies, but not too hard to eat! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MyMomentaryFancy
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
My daughter and I made sugar cookies this past Christmas (2014) and used this recipe AS IS - no alterations. And it came out beautifully. I won't search for another. This one's a keeper. Dried/hardened to a nice soft shell, glossy finish that we could touch without ruining. Lovely even after transport and easy to use. We just used plastic zip sandwich baggies with the tiniest portion of the tips cut off to decorate from start to finish. Thank you to the contributor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyMomentaryFancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I add a little more almond extract, just because I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This icing recipe results in crisp icing with an intermediary thickness, a nice sheen and a good, neutral flavor, if the following adjustments are made: measure the milk by sight, checking the consistency of the mixture (aiming to get it just out of the gluey stage) because two teaspoons simply will not be enough. And, to avoid conflicts with flavors of other cookies, if you are using these for cookies other than sugar cookies: omit the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Very shiny finish to my sugar cookies. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States