Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Use this with the Best Rolled Sugar Cookie recipe. People cant believe they arent from a bakery, its that good! The icing hardens but is still tasty and your able to pack them up with no smudges. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrenabee
Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I feel like im rating this recipe higher then it really should be! The proportions are way off! There is no way as recipe is written this icing is spreadable I had to add alot more milk! my cookies turned out nice but only because of my adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
It tastes great, but the measurements are way off. 2 teaspoons of milk to 1 cup of powdered sugar? Wow. That's not even enough to get the sugar wet. I had to add a lot more milk, and it was still very thick and hard to work with. It was my first time making icing, so I had no feel for how thick it was supposed to be, so for the recipe to be so far off on the measurements was frustrating and unhelpful. But I eventually figured it out, and it does taste good and looks good on the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Looks beautiful and is super easy. One word of warning, do not freeze this icing. The colors dulled and turned blotchy. Just let the icing dry then store cookies in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I've been searching for a recipe like this!! Love the sheen it puts on the cookies. I didn't have time to do another layer this time around but will "budget" my time the next go round so I can play a bit more to see what results I can get by adding more dimension to the decorating process. I did mess up by adding all ingredients at once but added a bit more milk to enable thorough mixing. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This icing is delicious and easy to work with. My 2-5 year old grandkids used paint brushes to paint it on the cookies. The toppings stick great and as it states it dries perfectly so cookies can be stacked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
The amount of milk and corn syrup the recipe says you need makes a thick unspreadable paste. Not something you can ice cookies with. Had to add double what the recipe called for just to make it smooth and easily drizzled or spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe last night on some Christmas Tree sugar cookies. I was skeptical about all the rave reviews (could my cookies realy look like store bought?). But, to my surprise, they are BEAUTIFUL. I doubled the recipe as I had TONs to frost. One note, if the frosting is getting dry while working with it, you can add a few drops of Corn Syrup and it's like new. I love this recipe. I do agree that the tast is not quite as good as my "butter" icing recipe. I'll work on that next....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annajplummer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is really easy and good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Rivet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is perfect for topping my MIL's famous sugar cookies! I used 2 T. of milk and substituted vanilla for the almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States