Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My first time to make this icing. I always made buttercream frosting for sugar cookies. This was very easy and the almond extract gave the cookies some added flavor. I did need to add extra milk to make it spreadable. This makes a very shiny and delicious icing. I will be making this again. Thank you JBS BOX for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I and my two kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I had to make about 50 cookies for a class project, and I had to keep making more frosting even AFTER I adjusted the 'serving size'. In my opinion, it needs more vanilla to the powdered sugar to make it taste better. I ended up just making my own version which included agave nectar instead of corn syrup and milk with vanilla. They still came out shiny, and I personally think they taste a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I think it's too sweet. The icing LOOKS fantastic but it is too sweet and has not a lot of flavor. Please improve this recipe because I'm planning to make it for my family and they don't like supersweet stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Am I the only one who's came out tasting like the confectioners sugar? What did I do wrong? I used vanilla extract instead of almond
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
turns out perfect! i had to add just a dab extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The only reason I give this 4 stars instead of 5 is that the steps to make it didn't seem quite right, and I was initially worried I was going to have to scrap the whole batch. I ended up with a super-thick paste and didn't want to add any more corn syrup after I felt like I had added a bunch, so I started thinning it out with water, instead, and that worked perfectly. I found that dipping the cookies in or applying it to them with a spook worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Perhaps I just did it wrong but I couldn't get the icing to work with SO much sugar and such little milk and corn syrup. Ending up adding heavy cream, a dash of salt, and making it that way. Turned out fine, not very glossy, but after drying it looked just as cute as I would've wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
No matter how hard I try, I never get icing that hardens to the point where I can stack them. I have tried this one and many others. I put them in the fridge, the freezer....to no avail. As soon as I touch the surface, squish! What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States