Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This is a really great icing. It stuck to the cookie and the sprinkles stuck to it. Dried in about an hour and the sprinkles didn't fall off. If using a piping bag to apply, I would recommend leaving the icing on the thick side or else it comes out too fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Bulloch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This recipe was great. I live in Israel and have no access to corn syrup so I used maple syrup instead (since it's made mostly of corn syrup here). I gave my kids new paint brushes and put the different colored icing in different cups and they painted it on. The icing hardened quickly. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and had to add 2 extra Tablespoons of milk for it to be a frosting consistency. The end product hardened up nice to be able to stack the cookies. Before we frosted the cookies I almost threw it away because we didn't like the taste, but it tasted pretty good on the cookies when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I had to add a little more milk than the recipe suggests but it turned out great! We had to double the recipe and then make another patch in order to cover all the cookies, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PinayWorkingMom
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Made and iced sugar cookies for the first time, this glaze is great for decorating as it's adaptable to different consistencies for outlining and flooding. It dries very quickly, sets up nicely so that you can stack cookies, but doesn't turn your chewy sugar cookies to rock, if you know what I mean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cebu City, Cebu, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Followed the recipe, as written with half a batch, then following top rated suggestions from thus page. Neither batch hardened even when cookies were left to dry overnight. Now I've wasted an entire batch of cookies with an icing that will not harden. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This recipe is fool proof! It does need to be thinned out so I use 2 or 3 teaspoons of milk to 1 teaspoon of corn syrup until I get the consistency of glue or shampoo. This recipe also "softens" a hard sugar cookie...cookie soaks up moisture. The painting method was tedious and sloppy so I use two methods. Dip the face of cookie into prepared bowl of icing. Let it dry on cooling rack. Excess icing will drip off cookie. Make sure you put paper towels under rack. Second method takes more time but a neater, more professional looking cookie. Wilton icing bottles or sandwich baggies with tiny bit of corner cut off. Line the edges of cookie, let dry. Fill in using stripes of frosting, spread to fill space with toothpick or small icing spatula. We all LOVE the almond flavoring. Buy really good quality extract. It makes a difference. Also I have only used this with gel concentrate food colorings. Wilson's gel colorings are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Parksion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocodejichef
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great! My sister and I had so much fun making these cookies and the icing finished off in a very pretty shiny glaze. It dries hard and it doesn't taste bad. I would recommend this recipe to anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anewport
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
So easy! So yummy! Loved how shiny it was when dried and yes watch out, it dries quickly so you if you plan on using sprinkles do it right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I can't get the milk and sugar smooth. Arg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States