Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful yet super easy to make recipe. I must strongly agree that this is THE HOLY GRAIL of all the icing recipe. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clareg27

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Turned out great! Used vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Other then the almond flavoring ( I used vanilla with half and lemon with the other half) This is a perfect icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent. Needs a little more milk/corn syrup for smooth texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, New York, USA
Living In: Vernon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Great recipe - the dough was too sticky for me, but I threw in an extra 30 minutes in the freezer and it worked well. I did use flour to dust the surface and covert the roller pin to avoid breaking the dough. I like the cookies crispy - at 1/4 in they're crispier, and at 1/2 they may become doughy-cake texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
My 14-year-old granddaughter and I used this to glaze a batch of sugar cookies. We split it into four bowls and added a few drops of grocery store food color to each bowl and it worked perfectly, I found 2 tsp. of milk to be far too little to get this to a spreadable consistency, but I kept adding and stirring a little at a time until I got it the way I wanted. We used small craft brushes and painted it on. It went on smoothly and dried hard. My granddaughter, who is a very picky eater, LOVED the flavor. A big win all the way around. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is my go-to icing! I use vanilla instead of almond because it's what I have on hand. I do double or triple the batch each time I make it so I have plenty to dye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Our favorite!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I had issues with this recipe the first couple of times I tried it. I trouble shot this recipe by reading others suggestions, and it is very important to gradually stir in the powdered sugar, and I used double the milk. We didn't have any almond extract so used vanilla in one and lemon in another batch. The lemon extract was delicious and a favorite at the Christmas party I took them to. It sets up super shiny and hard. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Professional looking results - and I'm not a baker. I added slightly more corn syrup, about a half teaspoon and a half teaspoon milk - this worked for me. The icing hardened up nicely and the cookies did not stick together even when stacked. I filled a quart size plastic freezer bag with the icing, snipped the corner and was able to pipe letters with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States