Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Wonderful icing. Middled aged lady finally finds the icing recipe she's been looking for all her life! Just made tulip sugar cookies and used this icing to color them alternatly red and yellow. Light sheen, drys nicely and was able to paint green (stem) frosting over the dried red or yellow "petals" and the color covered nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitelotuskim

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I like this recipe a lot because it hardens very nice however I always need to add more milk or corn syrup to reach the desired consistency to ice the cookies. Also, I use vanilla instead of almond extract but have to increase the amount in order for the icing to not taste like powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I live overseas and was really excited to use this recipe for my daughters birthday celebration cookies at pre-school. I used the ingredients that I found in my local economy. This recipe did NOT work. I was really disappointed. If you are living somewhere where the quality of your ingredients are not not similar to the USA this recipe will probably not work well for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
this icing was fabulous it was the icing that makes you want to get up and dance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
excellent frosting! I did end up using more milk than called for in the recipe, and also added lemon extract instead of vanilla. The results were awesome - My almost 3-year-old niece was able to easily spread this frosting onto the sugar cookies with silicone brushes, and decorating squeeze bottles. We made an amazing array of Easter Cookies with this wonderful icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna85
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I loved this recipe! The only change I made was turning 2 TSP to 2 TBS of milk. Otherwise it covered smoothly. I just had to make it about 3 times to cover and decorate 80 cookies, I over did it with certain colors. Ha, but lots of fun. Saving it for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlee05
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Followed the recipe as stated but needed toad just a little it more milk in order to create the right consistency. Excellent. The cookies turned out awesome. I used a paint brush and painted my egg cookies. The possibilities are endless. Will be using this icing recipe. Simple, quick and tasty. Not too sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlee05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Yummy and really great for decorating sugar cookies. Spread a base color on with the back of a spoon, then pipe on details. Sometimes a little more milk was needed also. Best if made right before decorating, as it starts to get thick and harden a bit on top as it sits. Wait to stack cookies until fully dry to the touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Perfect! It dried nicely and did not make a mess on the other sugar cookies! For those that had trouble mixing it, you have to add very little powdered sugar at a time - you can't just throw all the ingredients in at once! I did have to add a little extra milk b/c I got lazy at the end and wanted to add more powdered sugar at a time. For those that do not like the flavor, try butter flavoring. I also am not a fan of almond, so I substituted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 2,252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States