Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2000
This is the best sugar cookie icing I have found. It dries hard and shiny, is easy to make, fun for the kids, and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
very sweet :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUPQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
I have been searching for a great sugar cookie icing for the longest time!! I loved this recipe. I will use this always!! I used vanilla instead of almond since I didn't have any almond and it was delicious!! I had to add a bit more milk since I couldn't get it smooth with 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2000
This recipe is great for decorating cookies. It is so pretty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
This is absolutely the best cookie icing I've ever had! It looks beautiful on the cookies, it really does stay shiny, and the designs look sharp and professional. And it tastes great! I didn't add extra milk, but I did have to add quite a bit more corn syrup and it worked out fine. I tried adding cocoa powder for a chocolate flavor, but I don't recommend it - the flavor was faint, and the color was pretty ugly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
This recipe is extremely easy to make. I had to add another teaspoon of corn syrup and added an extra teaspoon of milk, and it made a great consistency. The colors are vibrant and the icing stiffens really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
this icing was beautiful when dried. It really is shiny and looks great on sugar cookies. I used vanilla instead of almond extract and still tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM3BOYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
This is the icing I'll be using with my sugar cookies from now on! It was super easy to make and dried shiny and smooth. I was able to stack the cookies and the icing stayed nice. I did add about 1/2 tsp more milk than it called for and substituded vanilla for the almond extract. It is quite sweet but you don't need to put a whole lot on each cookie. The recipe said it would ice 12 cookies but I did double that. Everyone loved my cookies and they really looked great. My 3 year old helped put the icing on and even though hers looked pretty messy, they still tasted good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
It was a bit runny, not good for detailed cookies unless you add more sugar. Love how glossey it dried. If you are going to use vanilla instead of almond extract, i would use the clear and not the brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDROYAI

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I really liked this recipe. The colors were so pretty after they dried. It is very sweet, but I like it that way. I had to add a bit more corn syrup to make it spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States