Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Absolutely LOVE this recipe! my family and friends all loved this recipe and asked me to start making it every time i make sugar cookies:D *****5 STARS*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Easy and did the trick. Had a bunch of toddlers 'painting' onto sugar cookies and it wasn't too drippy or sloppy. It dried nicely and the colors stay very vivid when dyed. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MleSlngTerp

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Hardens Beautifully! This recipe will need a bit more milk to get to the right consistency, but don't overdo. Add a little at a time. I separated into small individual 'chocolate mold' for ease of decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe was perfect for rolling out and using cookie cutters. I tried another recipe and it was way too sweet. This one way perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I really didn't like this. It didn't taste very good, and I had to add more milk, because the measurements were off. I know that this type of icing is more for looks then taste, but I was really disappointing. And I've been baking for years, so it's not like I was making a mistake with the recipe. I've made lots of types of icings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abskerdoodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Loved this icing recipe! I made two batches for my kids' class cookies, one with vanilla extract and one with lemon extract. We had so much fun painting our cookies! The icing hardened perfectly overnight - not so hard you can't bite the cookie, but firm enough for safe transport on a bouncy school bus. :) It has a beautiful gloss, and really holds the food coloring well. I may dip the cookies next time for a different look. :D Can't wait to use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I don't understand how this recipe got so many good reviews. The proportions are way off, you need almost double the milk to make it spreadable. It taste like pure powdered sugar, way too sweet. It does look pretty after you tweak it to get it spreadable but it does not taste good at all. I just ruined half a batch of cut out cookies that I spent a couple hours baking. Also, if you try to stack them, the icing melts and they all stick together even if you put waxed paper between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Best sugar cookie recipe I have ever find. I was a bit concerned after I mixed things up and it was pretty thick. The reviews saved me: add more milk. Not a lot, but maybe another 1/2 - 1 teaspoon. This recipe makes for a VERY pretty cookie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The icing complements sugar cookies perfectly. They were a hit at home and with friends and co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe makes a nice thin icing to decorate an entire cookie, make it thicker for piping. It dries quickly so you have to be ready for other decor or have some help before they dry. Easy to flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 2,265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States