Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I used this on a sugar cookie recipe from all recipes and also on Martha Stewart's Gingerbread Snowflake. Worked like a charm. I started with the amounts from the recipe, but substituted the almond extract (allergic) for vanilla. Almost forgot to add in the extract, because the frosting tasted pretty good without it anyway! The consistency seemed too thick so i added about half teaspoon of milk and half teaspoon of corn syrup, stirred, then let it sit for about a minute and that was about right for me. If the frosting gets too runny, add about a teaspoon of icing sugar and keep stirring. The best part about this recipe is that the icing sugar dissolved really fast and there were no eggs! Totally kid and mum safe. I made one batch thicker than another batch so I could make lining (is that what its called?) icing and filling icing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I did not think there was enough milk- wondering if it is truly 2 teaspoons. Ended up adding about double that and some vanilla extract as well to help boost the flavor. This spread nicely on my Christmas cookies. I love the flavor and consistency and will use this in place of my old stand by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Richards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
The end result of this was great, but the recipe wasn't right. It required a lot more milk than called for. It looked nice and I enjoyed the flavour, but 3 stars because the milk was off by so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I'm rating this low, as I had to double the milk (increase it to 4 tsp) to have a workable icing. As written, the recipe is way to dry to work with - so crumbly, that it required additional liquid. With the increase in milk, it was perfect. It dried shiny and smooth, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Excellent and easy! I needed more corn syrup than the recipe stated, but otherwise I prepared it as is. Perfect for my Christmas sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRindell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I couldn't blend the milk and sugar. I started out with milk and slowly adding the sugar. But still the more sugar I added, the drier it became and also, harder and harder to stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicalea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I love this icing! Adds a nice almond flavor to rolled sugar cookies. Not too sweet and sets up nicely. I do use more extract milk and corn syrup until I get the right consistency. I make larger batches and the amounts listed aren't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
My grandgirl and I wanted to use the icing to squeeze out of squeeze bottles. This recipe was extremely thick. I had to use an another tsp of milk (one 1/4 tsp at a time) in order to thin it enough to use. But delicious flavor and hardened quickly. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States