Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Looks easy... but was tricky. Had to thin-it-out alot in order to spread it so it did not dry shiny. was tough to work with. had to paint cookies with a brush. took longg time to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
It didn't mix (not enough liquid for the sugar) and I tried again today. Mixing up the sugar with the 2tsp milk, all I managed to do was send sugar flying around the kitchen - took way more to get it to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Is it just me... Am I missing something? The proportions looked fishy but I tried it anyway. WAY OFF! 2 teaspoons of milk? Shouldn't it be 2 TABLESPOONS? WOW! It was just wet powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This really made a pretty shell on the sugar cookies. It dries shiny and hard. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This a perfect icing recipe. What is great is I can use a flavored juice for the milk. I just made a mango icing for a lime maseca cookie that came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2bake
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
The proportions for this are way off. I had to add water which worked out fine, It allowed me to make different consistencies for flooding and piping. Didn't care for taste so I added juice of a half lemon (which many other recipes call for) *I did double recipe to start*, added 1 tsp pure vanilla and 1/4 tsp pure almond extract and a pinch of salt to cut the sweet. Can adjust flavoring..but I found we liked it w/more lemon, then vanilla and a touch of almond. Do not use lemon flavoring. Use real lemon juice from a fresh squeezed lemon. (not even the one already squeezed from store, the real thing makes a huge difference). I'd use this recipe again with these changes. It worked out great. Had a nice gloss, dried hard but not like royal icing , just hard w/ a nice bite. I could stack w/out any damage, although I always use wax paper in between too. Used it to make these pinterest cookies and really liked the glaze vs. royal icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
My first time to make this icing. I always made buttercream frosting for sugar cookies. This was very easy and the almond extract gave the cookies some added flavor. I did need to add extra milk to make it spreadable. This makes a very shiny and delicious icing. I will be making this again. Thank you JBS BOX for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I and my two kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I had to make about 50 cookies for a class project, and I had to keep making more frosting even AFTER I adjusted the 'serving size'. In my opinion, it needs more vanilla to the powdered sugar to make it taste better. I ended up just making my own version which included agave nectar instead of corn syrup and milk with vanilla. They still came out shiny, and I personally think they taste a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States