Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Great royal icing. The trick is in adding the right amount of liquid so it's the right mix of spreadable but not runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Really like this. We used mint extract as an option to almond or vanilla. I did find the icing a bit stiff and hard to spread, but heating it up for a few seconds in the microwave made it spreadable - yet still able to harden. Works well (even w/o heating) when using decorating syringe for details. Best is the icing is hard enough to stack cookies, but not too hard to eat! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MyMomentaryFancy
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
My daughter and I made sugar cookies this past Christmas (2014) and used this recipe AS IS - no alterations. And it came out beautifully. I won't search for another. This one's a keeper. Dried/hardened to a nice soft shell, glossy finish that we could touch without ruining. Lovely even after transport and easy to use. We just used plastic zip sandwich baggies with the tiniest portion of the tips cut off to decorate from start to finish. Thank you to the contributor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyMomentaryFancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I add a little more almond extract, just because I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This icing recipe results in crisp icing with an intermediary thickness, a nice sheen and a good, neutral flavor, if the following adjustments are made: measure the milk by sight, checking the consistency of the mixture (aiming to get it just out of the gluey stage) because two teaspoons simply will not be enough. And, to avoid conflicts with flavors of other cookies, if you are using these for cookies other than sugar cookies: omit the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Very shiny finish to my sugar cookies. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great cookie icing recipe. It works perfectly every time I use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I didn't have corn syrup so I ised honey as a substitute. It made it extra sweet but it still set up nicely. This is simple, hardens beautifully and takes very well to food color. I use the paste but be sure to use very little! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I used this icing several times over the holidays, and it was great! I used vanilla extract, because that was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I used vanilla extract instead of almond extract. I had to double the milk and it was still thicker than I wanted it to be. All in all, a good base recipe, and with a bit of tweaking it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States