Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by MrsCabes
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I took the suggestions of previous reviewers and 1. used 2 tbsp of corn syrup 2. used a little over 1 tbsp of water and 3. added a couple drops of almond extract. The glaze turned out PERFECT - it was a perfect consistency, had a perfect texture and flavor and kept a beautiful shine, even days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This recipe is the best sugar cookie icing ive ever made, easy to add icing sugar to make it thicker, and colors nice, it make the perfect glaze for our cookies i let the kids dip the cookies and they loved it! I will be using this EVERYTIME i make sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was good. It sets up nicely, but it doesn't have a lot of shine to it. Colors took well, and were not washed out, but were nicely opaque. It needed just a bit of almond extract for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I have used this recipe several times now and it has always turned out great. Even people who don't like sugar cookies love them with this glaze. Sometimes the finish mottles after a few hours. Even after stirring between cookies. I'm wondering if it has to do with the syrup to water ratio or maybe the humidity in my house, since it doesn't mottle each time. I've also used the Sugar Cooking Icing recipe on this site which calls for milk. It doesn't seem to mottle with the milk, but I like the clear finish without out the milk better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was very easy glaze to work with. I added some almond flavoring as mentioned and did need to add a little more water when it started to thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
it worked really well and was easy to make. i would deffinitly recomend it. sorry about the spelling i'm in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Nice glaze, but as mentioned in another review, it was on the clear side. Nonetheless, it worked out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saltsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Just what I was looking for. This appears to be exactly the same glaze used on the expensive bakery cookies. I agree it could use a bit of flavor, but it is personal preference. Definitely double the recipe to cover a single recipe of sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I live overseas soI can't find corn syrup so I substituted the corn syrup for 3 tbsp powdered sugar and 1/4 tsp water. Also I added 1/4 tsp almond extract. They were pretty good but I think the corn syrup is what causes the hard shell so they weren't as hard as I like. Pretty dang close though. Next time I'm going to try adding an extra cup of powdered sugar so they're easier to spread. They'er a bit difficult in that department but very good overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
It was my first time baking sugar cookies and decorating them. I followed the exact instructions for this glaze with addition of some vanilla and my cookies turned out beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 101-110 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States