Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Catie's Confections
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made this and decorated cookies by using. Pastry brush. It might need a little more sugar if you used bag. Dried hard so I could package them. I used vanilla also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe tasted way too much like confectioner's sugar and was very runny. It works best as a glaze to be spread all over something--it doesn't hold shapes. Well, I guess I should have gotten that from the fact that it is called a "glaze" and not "icing" or something. Anyways, I played around with the proportions and added a little cornstarch for thickness. I also added orange extract, vanilla, and orange juice and it turned out well, but I wouldn't really consider what I ended up with to be this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I still prefer butter icing as my base. If I use lots of icing sugar it hardens up. Then I use royal type icings for the details.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Wow this is the PERFECT recipe for glazed cookie bouquets! My husband requested them again the very next day. I'm definitely keeping this:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Wonderful to work with and super easy to make. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I mix up a huge batch then separate for different paste food coloring. I also use the food color markers and this holds up well if I let it dry overnight - it may be ready sooner, but I always wait at least 10 hours. It packs and ships well too. The only time I have had difficulty it when I've overdone the water or corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kewlness41
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
It was easy to make. However I had issues trying to pipe it neatly onto the cookies. I ended up just dunking the whole cookie in the glaze. The other issue i had was that the cookies were stuck to the cooling rack in the morning so a lot of them broke as i was trying to get them off. They tased pretty good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I did not have much luck with this glaze.......it was really thin and runny. I followed recipe exactly....maybe more powdered sugar????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Go slow adding wet indredients so you can check for the consistency you want. I used in decorator tubes/tips with asst'd decorations. My son enjoyed helping when he saw what I was doing. Fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I glazed my leaf-shaped sugar cookies in a tri-color look following the directions suggested by Larkspur. I made up a batch and a half of the glaze, divided it into three portions, gave each one a color, and then put them on a plate side by side. I dipped each cookie into the colors, kind of mooshing them around a little to get the colors to run together. It worked perfectly! To get the veins, I then added all the colors together, added brown coloring to that, and used a toothpick to work that down the center and to the sides of the leaves. I was very happy with my results. BTW, I did have to add a little more corn syrup and water as I went along--just little dabs--to keep the right consistency of the glaze. It's pretty easy to get whatever consistency you need for your project! Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States