Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I make this basic recipe all the time, but I use less corn syrup and water. Start with less and add until it is the consistency you want. I would beware of those who recommend using milk instead of water. If you use milk, you will need to refrigerate the cookies or eat them immediately. Not a good idea to leave them out and let the milk go sour. JMHO. For those who complain of the glaze not having enough color, I suggest you use the gel type food coloring rather than the liquid. The gel is very concentrated and you will get very intense colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I can never get this right. It is alwasy a mess. It tastes really good and I hate to give it a low rating just because I can't figure it out. Perhaps "glaze" is not for me. I prefer the "Sugar Cookie Frosting" recipe from this site. It allowes me to add more detail to "the Best Rolled Sugar Cookies". I will keep experimenting with this though and try to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Something didn't work right, the glaze was almost clear and didn't set up like I thought it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made the most beautiful sugar cookies, and then lucked out by finding this recipe to decorate them with! My cookies have never looked so wonderful, even though I certainly have spent a lot more time in the past trying to make them pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Excellent Glaze! I would highly recommend it. The glaze dries nicely which makes it easy for packaging!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Awesome, thanks for sharing. I love this recipe. Also I learned that to make the glaze glossier I add more corn syrup. Matted, reduced corn syrup. My kids had so much fun, and the cookies looked all shiny and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shadnamber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cashmere, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I hate to rate a recipe low in case it's something I did wrong. I followed the recipe to a T, and it did not come out well. I dipped the cookies in, and the glaze soaked in. I waited about an hour until they were hard again, and I dipped again. I colored the glaze orange, and the glaze is completely transparent, not like the pictures I've seen. It tastes good, but I'm too embarrassed to take them to work like I'd planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Ginther Brauns
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Very easy to make, tasty... I added almond extract and the cookies turned out wonderful. I used the Best ever Rolled Cookie recipe. Next time will use less icing on the cookies. Set up really nicely but I recommend letting them set up before refrigerating if you added food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was really easy and worked well for decorating bowling pin sugar cookies. It sets relatively fast and was easy to work with. I just realized I haven't eaten any decorated cookies yet, so I'll have to edit if the taste isn't up to par. I used a paint brush to apply to the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Loved it. Dried fast and looked beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States