Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Kids love it. Pretty glaze, very shiny. Added milk instead of water & a few drops of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I really liked the final consistency of this icing. I was using royal icing for gingerbread, and it was just too crunchy when it set up. This icing sets firm so you can stack your cookies, but won't break your teeth when bite into them. :) The onlly thing keeping this at 4 stars was that the icing dried slightly cloudy. Maybe I needed to use more color. Overal, very happy with this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I have been using this recipe for years for all of the sugar cookies that I send out to family. The cookie recipe is a family heirloom and the frosting/glaze is what makes it for us. Since I live in high altitude area (over 5,000 feet) I use just a little extra water since our dry goods, such as the confectioner's sugar, are dryer as we usually have very low humidity. I also double the extracts for the cookies, due to the high altitude. If anyone who lives at high altitude and would like to see my cookie recipe that is adapted for this, you can go to my recipe box and see the recipe. This recipe makes about 80 cookies so you can halve it if you would like. The nice thing about this recipe is now when I cut out a Christmas tree or star, the shape that comes out of the oven LOOKS like a tree or star!! http://allrecipes.com/customrecipe/63452050/ch-sugar-cookies-high-altitude---i/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This glaze was ok. I divided it up to make it different colors and my big complaint was that it was very thin and runny so I could see through the first coat I did so I had to put another one on. I also forgot to add any extract so it did taste very much like solid powdered sugar. Not sure I would use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I just tasted like powdered sugar, even with a little vanilla. I just can't seem to find a good glaze or sugar cookie recipe :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I make this basic recipe all the time, but I use less corn syrup and water. Start with less and add until it is the consistency you want. I would beware of those who recommend using milk instead of water. If you use milk, you will need to refrigerate the cookies or eat them immediately. Not a good idea to leave them out and let the milk go sour. JMHO. For those who complain of the glaze not having enough color, I suggest you use the gel type food coloring rather than the liquid. The gel is very concentrated and you will get very intense colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I can never get this right. It is alwasy a mess. It tastes really good and I hate to give it a low rating just because I can't figure it out. Perhaps "glaze" is not for me. I prefer the "Sugar Cookie Frosting" recipe from this site. It allowes me to add more detail to "the Best Rolled Sugar Cookies". I will keep experimenting with this though and try to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Something didn't work right, the glaze was almost clear and didn't set up like I thought it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I made the most beautiful sugar cookies, and then lucked out by finding this recipe to decorate them with! My cookies have never looked so wonderful, even though I certainly have spent a lot more time in the past trying to make them pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Excellent Glaze! I would highly recommend it. The glaze dries nicely which makes it easy for packaging!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States