Sugar Cookie Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this with the 'Best Rolled Sugar Cookies' recipe. Found that 2 T of water made the glaze too runny - it soaked into my cookies. So I made a 2nd batch and only used 1 T of water. It was still liquid enough to dip and instead of soaking in, the glaze sat really nicely on top of the cookie and I had enough time to throw some holiday jimmies on them. I did use water because I wanted a shiny look. I also swirled the food coloring in to give the cookies a marbled look - very cool! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Good for decorating cookies. It goes on very easily, is dyed easily, and dries to a nice, shiny finish. Next time, I'll add a flavoring so it's not just a straight sugar shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNHARJE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Great glaze! For more flavor, I used 1 cup powered sugar, 2 TBS egg nog, 1.5 TBS water, and 1 TBS of corn syrup. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
looks good tastes bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lexeo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
nice glaze, easy to alter to your desired consistency. I always add a pinch of salt to this type of frosting to cut down on the incredible sweetness a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Tasted great, looked pretty after it dried; however, the next day it was kind of splotchy looking, with white patches on the surface. Wonder what I did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
very easy to make! Dried quickly so I could put them into little plastic baggies with no smear. Love it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I have been using "sugar cookie icing" recipe on this site, and liked it just fine, but decided to try this one out of curiosity. Taste the same...only difference I noticed is this glaze sets up faster and is a little thicker (not so runny like). I think I will continue to use this recipe due to it setting faster. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The best sugar cookie glaze I have every used. I added half a capful of vanilla extract to give it a little flavor and a teaspoon of extra confectioners sugar to thicken it a little bit more. This works very well with both "spooning" the glaze on to fully cover the cookies or doing a light drizzle also. I get rave reviews whenever I use this glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very disappointed in this glaze. Made this for cookie swap and had to re-make a whole new batch. The only good thing about it is that it is very pretty to look at - but what good is that if nobody will eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States