Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Standard frosting. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I don't like sugar cookies, and I always find the icings too watery and sweet. But this icing is wonderful... I have to say, I dropped the sugar to 3 cups, and I used Crisco butter sticks instead of plain shortening (and I'd agree with the user who said to cream the shortening first, then slowly add the sugar). But the result is wonderful - sort of like cake icing, and not as sickly sweet as I'm accustomed to! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I attempted this recipe while we were snowed in and found out I didn't have shortening. I used coconut oil instead, and while the end result was thinner and had a faint coconut taste to it, it was a huge hit. I have since stocked up on shortening and will continue to make this recipe....the proper way. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was perfect. My grand daughter decorated the cookies and loved doing it. I had a friend said to try butter instead of shorting. Maybe I will try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakotacabn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this to put on top of refrigerated sugar cookie dough pucks. Halved the recipie, then divided into small bowls to add food coloring. Wasn't sure if the food coloring would dilute, so put in enough powdered sugar to "look right". This recipie is great, husband and kids all loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I'm rating this as five stars simply because it delivered what it promised: a great sugar cookie frosting that's soft when it spreads and hardens nicely. The only thing that I wasn't that excited about was that it didn't have that delicious buttery taste that I've come to associate with sugar cookie frosting. But, if you're cool with that, there is not reason why this frosting isn't perfect in every way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Mine dried just fine, A little too dry really. Becomes flakey and looses it's appeal quite quickly, but if serving within a couple of hours you should be happy with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Teresa
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time yesterday, following the ingredients exactly. The frosting turned out great, and I didn't have any trouble with it not drying. We put our goody plates together probably 2-1/2 hours after frosting the cookies, and the frosting and decorations stayed intact. Thank you for sharing a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
consistency was fine but it tasted like shortening - did not like this at all. will try with butter next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Yumm! The best frosting I have ever made. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silvercin29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,079) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States