Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Sweet frosting that hardens. Worked well on soft sugar cookies IV from this site since those cookies aren't overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I made this to ice some sugar cookies for a fall social last week, and it was great. It was quick and easy to make, colored well and tasted fantastic. The only complaint is that mine turned out a little dry, so I added a little extra milk and extra vanilla (I like a strong vanilla taste) and it turned out fine. I made this early in the morning and left the frosted cookies in the cookie container on the counter for about 8 hours before serving and it had hardened a little on the top but was still awesome. I am not a big fan of frostings that contain shortening, but this one was tasty. :) I had a some left over and plan on making more cookies this weekend. Here is a link to the cookie recipe. http://makebakecelebrate.com/lets-talk-about-rolled-sugar-cookies/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenBee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I loved the recipe. I have never made sugar cookies due to the mess. I found an excellent (easy, no mess) cookie recipe and used this frosting. I did use half shortening and 1/2 real salted butter with food coloring. I was able to stack the cookies and freeze them to keep them fresh. I cannot wait to make another batch this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
For me it was perfect!! I wanted something simple that my 4 year old granddaughter could share with me and this did it. We mixed it together, she frosted most of the cookies with a small amount of taste testing and hubby loved what she did. A win win for sure that I have already saved the recipe for for next time and many to come. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
While this icing is delicious and easy to make, I was expecting, based on the reviews, for it to dry hard - mine did not. I will still use this icing for small batches that don't need to be stored long-term, but the fact that it prevents me from being able to stack my cookies is definitely a negative feature for me. I will try this recipe one more time with less sugar to see if that gives me the desired texture - otherwise, I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sevyn Tendam Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
i added butter instead of shortening and it turned out almost like whipped cream. it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
delicious i used this icing my cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aktar Poppy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Great recipe. A little thick to spread depending on how much food coloring you put in.if you don't add food coloring I would add about 1-2 tsp of milk. I also added 1 generous tsp of butter flavoring which made it taste like butter cream but not too strong or yellow. The half batch that I used nearly a whole bottle of food coloring had the best consistency. It also hardens nicely for stacking but not too hard. It is now my go to recipe for cookie frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
only put 4 tablespoons instead of 5 to make less runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,053) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States