Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This is definitely up there in terms of frosting for cookies-- frankly, its the only stuff I use--I've made this 3 or 4 times now. I make this with the recipe on this site: "The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" and it is just fantastic! If you aren't a big fan of sweet stuff, however, I would suggest halving this recipe-- this really makes way more than necessary for that recipe. If you are a big fan of sweet stuff, however-- glop it on! I seriously suggest putting in the shortening, then slowly adding the powdered sugar about half a cup at a time. Once it starts clumping up, add the milk/ etc, then add more sugar if you want to make it a bit thicker. I've found that if it gets too clumpy, it won't dissolve the clumps, and you have to smooth it out with a spatula, which takes forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
Sugar cookie icing is really a matter of personal taste, so I can understand this not agreeing with everyone. However, I though this was the BEST SUGAR COOKIE ICING I'VE EVER MADE! I've tried the confectionary sugar recipes a dozen different ways and they always come out sickly sweet. Just keep it a scant measure of the shortening, and whip it up real well and this icing is fantastic. Not only that, but it held up well enough that I could pack these up and pass them out. Everyone who tried my cookies loved this icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
826 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Delicious!! I used this icing on the Easy Sugar Cookies and it was a huge hit with everyone. I used unsalted butter instead of shortening though, it gives a much better flavor to the icing. The one time I used shortening the icing dried fairly quickly and I was able to put all the cookies in layers (with tinfoil in between) within 15 minutes of icing them. If you want to add sprinkles or anything to the top of the icing be sure to do that right away or they won't stick! If you use butter, the cookies will stick together if you stack them but there's no trans fats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
641 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Halved the recipe and used butter instead of shortening. Great and easy. My daughter had a blast adding food coloring and decoring cookies. Using this for this season's batch of holiday cookies. Thanks Kathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
GREAT frosting for sugar cookies or christmas cookies. Sets well so you can put the cookies in a tin or bag! Loved it! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This was a good cookie frosting, but not exactly what I was looking for. My husband said it was too sweet, but the kids and I loved the sweetness. However, I was on the hunt for more of a glaze/icing that would be stackable. The frosting was thick and was more like a frosting for a cake. It was yummy though and easy to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMMOM3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I liked this recipe because I often use royal icing. The cream of tartar gives it that twinge and its not very good with a sugar cookie. So this was a better choice. I also added some Wilton's white white. It makes it perfectly white. If you add a little glycerine it comes out glossy ;) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This frosting was fantastic! Finally I have found a cookie frosting that is thicker, and hardens, and its tastey. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I have been searching for the "perfect" frosting recipe - the search is over - this is IT! It's easy to make, tastes great, easy to apply and dries hard (but not as hard as royal frosting).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This was a great frosting. Just the right consistency, easy to spread, slightly shiny. I used butter in place of the shortening, and I also added some lemon extract which I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,040) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States