Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a great go to recipe for frosting - I add a little Almond extract - and it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
SO GOOD & EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I didn't correctly incorporate everything in the best order for the best consistency. Watch the video! It helps! Alternating sugar and milk helps and makes it turn out perfectly. First time I made it I would give it 3.5 stars and this most recent time I give it 5! :) Very simple and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I had tried another recipe for sugar cookie frosting prior to this one, and it came out much too sweet. This one was perfect! Easy to make (I halved the recipe because I had a small batch of cookies left), soft enough to spread easily, and stiffened up without getting hard. I will DEFINITELY be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Oh lord this was awful. My friend and I googled "Easy Sugar Cookie Frosting" and clicked on this thinking it was simple... and edible. Oh boy were we wrong. First of all, we didn't have "shortening" so we subsituted it for butter. After reading some reviews, I have come to the conclusion that this was a bad idea. Second, the recipe wasn't very clear on how to mix the ingredients. Should you decide to make this, use shortening, MUCH less sugar than called for (let's be realistic, 4 cups of sugar is too much for anyone), and do not beat too much. Our frosting seemed to have a bunch of clumps of sugar, so we mixed it with an electric mixer on "Whip." This made it into a weird liquidy consistensy. So, long story short: don't make this recipe and pick something alot more edible. Unless of course you like frosting that tastes like overly buttery, sickly sweet toothpaste. Lastly, we named our frosting "The Nuclear Hazard," which should give you an idea of the quality...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I gave this frosting a try because my usual butter frosting makes cookies stick together. I made 6 dozen a few days ago and the cookies still look nice and no sticking. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Very thick and difficult to apply. Not what I was looking for, unfortunately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
used butter instead of shortening; everything else was the same and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is the most amazing icing recipe i have tried!!! i sub the vanilla to peppermint extract for christmas cookies and they went like hot cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very pretty, easy to pipe or flow and tastes better than royal frosting. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,032) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States