Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I don't know if it was my shortening of what, but it never combined with the sugar correctly. It just ground into a sandy, nasty mixture. When I added milk I had to add 3 times the reccommended amount to even get a workable frosting. The vanilla didn't cover the vegetable oil flavor that made me want to gag :-/ I must have done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This turned out to be absolutely delicious frosting, but I did have to add a pinch of salt to balance the sweetness. The frosting stays soft, for the most part, so you either need to cover with sprinkles or wrap them carefully when storing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Have made several times, as written and I have used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening for a better tasting frosting that is thick enough for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Way too sweet and too thin to spread onto cookies. I subbed butter for the shortening and all you can taste is way too sweet butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
It was pretty good not a fluffy as I expected but pretty good I halfed the recipe and made it 24 servings instead of 48 , And since I didn't have shortening I used butter maybe that was why it wasn't as fluffy Also a little too sweet but i liked it because i made pretty plain cookies , Yum:D BTW 4 1/2 stars :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is a great icing! Extremely easy to make and mixes very well...I used 1/2 tsp vanilla extra instead of 1/4..and I wouldn't suggest doing that again. lol Makes it a tad too sweet for my taste but if your receiving party has a big sweet tooth I would def suggest it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I just made this and I would only put in half of sugar that it says it needs. I had to add salt to tone down the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This recipe didn't have the vanilla/buttery flavour I was looking for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I used hardly any on one cookie to test it and the next morning it was mushy and dried almost clear. I followed it exactly, no question. I decided to start over because it was the right consistency before all that milk. And this time I only added 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1.5 tablespoons of milk so it would be thicker and THEN it was perfect. Good frosting, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,032) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States