Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Used butter in place of shortning. Husband LOVED it. If you wait a day or so the frosting will harden and make it possible to give a plate of frosted cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I didn't like it because using shortening leaves a greasy and thick taste. I didn't use all the confectioners sugar it asked for either rather I tasted it as I went because I don't like overly sweet frosting. I needed a quick white frosting and chose this because of the high ratings. I will not use this recipe again and I will avoid using recipes calling for shortening in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
My go-to icing recipe for sugar cookies. It's easy to decorate with, sets up stiff enough to stack and actually tastes pretty good, too. I like using this a lot more than royal icing. I will never use royal icing again. This is so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Warning: you definately need to use an electric mixer to make this recipe! The recipe does tell you but I tried with just a spatula and now it is a paste...not frosting. Still tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Awesome. Just enough sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
great recipe. love this and i will always use it when i make sugar cookies!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This icing is so sweet! I'm not sure how to describe how intense the sweetness is, but I'd say on the level of Cadbury Eggs with cotton candy mixed in. I guess I prefer a milder, more buttermilk type frosting, but I was afraid that wouldn't set. This recipe did set, but it was for naught because we couldn't eat any of it. Too bad, it was easy to make and looked pretty. It's a very thick and fluffy frosting. I did cut out some milk. I used maybe 1 tbl and added it slowly while mixing on high. Anymore than that and I noticed it started to get runny and fall apart. Use your own judgement; you'll know when it's ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
The recipe, as is, is a bit too stiff for spreading and needed to be thinned just a bit more with milk to stay put on the cookie. It had a slightly off flavor, but otherwise quick, easy and something I will definitely use again. Paired excellently with "The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies" here on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I added peppermint extract to the frosting and it was delicious though a bit too sweet. I put it on brownies and it was amazing. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,061) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States