Sugar Cookie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This recipe was easy, tasty, and just the right consistency for spreading on sugar cookies. It also set nicely with a hard crust. I was able to transport two dozen cookies by just throwing them into a Tupperware container. I didn't have issues with the frosting getting squashed during transport. It also took to food coloring well (I used gel, not liquid). Half of this recipe frosted two dozen cookies (about two inches each) with a little bit left to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This frosting is delicious, it dries hard in no time. Only substitutions I made was add half butter, half shortening and added almond extract instead and added a bit more. The frosting is a bit thick and won't produce the prettiest frosting for cookies, but add sprinkles on top and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Very good frosting. The key to any buttercream frosting is to play with the ingredients. For instance, don't like yours very sweet? Simply cut back on the amount of sugar you add. Like it sweeter? Add more. (It doesn't HAVE to be 4 cups.) If this tastes or feels a bit too greasy to you with all that shortening, then use butter or a half and half mixture of butter flavor crisco and real butter. Also, that milk amount is an approximation. Start with a tablespoon and add more as needed to make it the consistency YOU want. I never need to add 5 tablespoons, I usually only need one or two. See? It's easy if you play around with it and make it yours. You can also add other flavorings to make it unique to your needs - you can add lemon extract, almond extract (my favorite!), peppermint extract, etc. Love this recipe and how versatile it is with just a few tweaks here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
My son said -- "Give it all the stars!! It is excellent, perfect, great, good, and everything that is wonderful!!! Thank you for the recipe!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fancy Rose
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
First time making frosting for the sugar cookies and I loved it.My family also enjoyed it I didn't put a whole lot on the cookies so it dried and I was able to stack them. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fancy Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
If you add 1/2 cup of softened butter you'll get the old Wilton Buttercream Icing that is great for decorating. It won't be as "white as this but the flavor will be a bit better and it'll knock down the sweetness just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Bubier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy28
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! Very easy to make and easy to work with. Will definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
If you want a pretty bakery style icing this is it...but, I like a more buttery icing...so next time I'll stick with a butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a great cookie frosting. It's great for kids to decorate their own cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I saw this recipe, looked at the pictures, read the reviews and was extremely excited to try this, thought it was exactly what I've been looking for, for my sugar cookies. I was absolutely disappointed, I used butter instead of shortening, mine did not turn out at all, it was runny and had started to seperate..I had to dumb the whole batch :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,061) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States