Sugar Cookie Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I am an avid cookie baker, and these were good, BUT...the recipes needs about a 1/4 tsp or more of SALT (I tested a few before I added the salt, and the salt helped tremendously). I would also recommend cutting the recipe in half (except the vanilla) because you'll still get about 4 1/2 dozen cookies. Also, don't press them down too much; they'll flatten as they bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIE6381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
What a yummy cookie. I added 1tsp of almond flavoring and 1/4tsp extra salt like other reviewers suggested. I used my pampered chef small cookie scoop to shape the balls so it made the job quick and easy. I rolled the first batch in white sugar as the recipe called and I could see that it was going to make alot of cookies. So for the next pan I used cinnamon and sugar mixed together and the next cocoa and sugar. It made for a nice variety and quite beautiful! I will be keeping this recipe forever. Barb in BC Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
I grew up with these cookies as a family recipe, only the original recipe of my childhood calls for vegetable shortening instead of butter. But butter is so much better! I never thought of using butter till I saw this recipe. The cookies are just awesome. So tender, yet crisp, they really do melt in your mouth. I flatten mine with the bottom of a drinking glass dipped in sugar rather than with a fork. It produces perfectly smooth, gorgeous cookies. These guys are too fragile to frost (if you did manage to spread frosting on without breaking them, they would absorb the moisture from the frosting and turn unappetizingly soggy) but colored sugar sprinkles is an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I just finished making these cookies and I had to write a review - they are great! Crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle. I added 2 tsp. of vanilla and rolled them in white sugar with red and green sprinkles so that they would be festive looking. Thanks for this recipe - it will be my new Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
These are the best sugar cookies I've ever tasted and they really do melt in your mouth! I decided to scale the recipe down to 24 servings and it still made 4 dozen, so I would suggest not making them at full recipe. To make the colored sugar just put a half a cup sugar and a drop or two of food coloring in a ziplock bag and mix it around. It works great. These cookies will get great results no matter where they are served! Thank you for sharing the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I used 1.5 cups of butter and 1/2 cup of canola oil since I didn't want a super crispy cookie. They turned out great with the change, nice and soft with a tiny crunch at the edge. Perfect for decorating. Update: made with one c butter, half cup oil, half cup apple sauce and cut the powdered sugar to one cup sinceiwas going to frost them, and even better. They were almost too sweet with the frosting before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
Don't be surprised at the greasy feeling of the dough. I will chill it next time to make it a little easier to handle. I forgot to press down with a fork and just waited for the dough balls to flatten and it was a perfect indication that they were done. I used this recipe for Christmas and rolled a few in red sugar, a few in green sugar, a few in white sugar and a few in cinnamon and sugar. I am keeping this recipe. I do wish I had made half a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deer Park, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These are just ok for me. Im not having good luck with cookies right now! Maybe its me! Not crazy about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCatrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
So good and so easy. I added almond extract because I love that flavor. Also colored my sugar before rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
These cookies stayed nice an soft. To the 1/4 C of white sugar I added some colored sugar (pink and purple) to pretty them up for 4 little girls who's mother is on a 6 month deployment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States