Sugar Cookie Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I feel like an absolute idiot. After reading all the reviews, I thought this would be relatively easy to make, but having done it, not sure where I went wrong. Once I made the dough, there was absolutely no way i was going to be able to roll it into anything! So I decided to leave it in the fridge for a few hours. After 2 hours, I could see the dough was a bit more manageable, so I decided to try a batch. I could sort of make them into balls with the help of 2 spoons, but no way for me to roll them in anything. Then I place them on the pyrex that I use for all my baking, and they stuck. Conclusion: cookie sheets must be something different. Apart from all these mishaps (I am convinced there is something I missed), the cookies actually taste great! I am going to leave the dough in the fridge overnight and see if it is more manageable tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I didn't like them. There was a funny taste....maybe it was the confectioner's sugar? Or maybe the cream of tartar? I don't know. I was very disappointed because I've made way better sugar cookies from other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4Countries

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These are just ok for me. Im not having good luck with cookies right now! Maybe its me! Not crazy about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCatrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Turned out perfectly--I rolled the balls in colored sugar crystals and then used a cookie stamp on them. Beautiful! The larger sugar crystals work great, they make the tops and bottoms crunchy and add another texture dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This wasn't what i was looking for. I think vegetable oil was way too overpowering. Wasted a lot of ingredients just to through the mix away after one batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is the best sugar cookie recipe that I have ever used!!! I made one recipe(72 servings) and they were such a hit with my family that I had to make another! The first time I made it I didn't have 1 teaspoon of cream of tartar so I used 1/2 teaspoon instead. The next time I made it I used the full amount and I couldn't tell the difference. I baked the cookies for 9 min. and they were perfect!! Crispy on the outside chewy in the middle. Yum!! I will always use this recipe from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I made these today and had my dad try one. He said they were delicious. I added the 1/4 tsp of salt as other reviews recommended. I also rolled them in colored sugar for a christmas twist. They are delicious and I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
If your butter has salt in it you don't need to add salt. Yummy cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Fabulous recipe! I needed an emergency batch of Christmas cookies (because my 3 and 4 year daughters sneakily ate my origional batch) to give as gifts to some friends. My husband had made arrangements to be at people's houses at specific times and I had about an hour to figure something out. These cookies were very simple and quick to put together. I split the recipe and added 1/8 tsp. salt as suggested. I rolled 1/2 in red sprinkles and the other 1/2 in regular sugar colored with green food coloring. I baked them for 9 minutes and they were great! I think 10 minutes would have been fine too. Wonderful taste and texture! Thanks so much for the recipe- it was a life saver!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Love this recipe! Used almond extract instead of vanilla and doubled it. Also added a little salt as recommeded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States