Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Let me start this off by saying I hate making sugar cookies. I hate the rolling, I hate the crumbling, I hate the chilling, I hate everything that makes sugar cookies what they are. I'd only make them when I couldn't get out of it. And my 6yo DS has the most convincing big brown eyes. Anyway, this cookie has made me a convert. It doesn't need much chilling (1/2 hour to 45 minutes does well for me), the texture is GORGEOUS and doesn't get dry or sticky between rollings. I actually make these willingly. I'm making 3 pink batches, one for each of my kids to take to school for Valentines Day. I'm using the Easy Valentine Sandwich cookie method from this site to make them sandwiches (along with the frosting). I think they're truly fantastic. Laura, you ROCK to have restored my faith in easy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
410 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASHAKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Great recipe... very easy. I rolled them out on parchment paper, removed the excess and baked on the paper on cookie sheets. Much much easier than moving them to a cookie sheet and risking messing up the shapes. FYI, the parchment paper can be used several times! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bowhead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This dough is very easy to work with IF you chill it overnight.. And, for those of you who say the flavor is bland, remember to use PURE vanilla. Don't waste your time with the fake stuff, you will be disappointed after all your time spent. I also use 2 tsp. not 1 tsp. as called for. Try them again--Chill overnight, use PURE vanilla, and double the amount of vanilla.. This is the easiest dough to work with and the taste will be much better.. (also, make sure you beat the butter and sugar for at least 3 minutes, add eggs and beat for another 3 minutes.Add flour mixture and mix only till incorporated in, don't over mix)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
This recipe made an excellent dough for cutouts - very easy to work with. (Not one of my cookies broke!) They taste good, too, and were easy to frost and decorate. Tip: When the edges are JUST turning brown, take them out. I found that rolling out the dough to about 1/4 of an inch, or a little higher, worked better than making them thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was a GREAT recipe!! and do I have a tip for you! I used 1C of "Splenda" and added another 1/4C cream and made them sugar free! They rolled like a dream. My mother is diabetic and was 107 after eating them. I also live on the east coast and found that in my electric oven using 335 degrees for about 18 - 20 minutes gave me more control on how they turned out. I also switch the pan on the bottom with the one on the top rack. It makes them more even. Finally, (not the diabetic ones)I frosted them with a sugar cookie frosting from this website. A perfect pair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
I had a difficult time choosing a classic Christmas cookie recipe and am VERY glad I chose this one... not too chewy, not too crunchy, great taste, not too bland or too spicy, and very easy. The dough rolled out great, as long as we kept it refrigerated the whole time and cut off a hunk of dough to roll one batch at a time. The "scraps", we rolled into a ball and chilled in the freezer, and then rerolled. I will be using this one again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Out of four sugar cookie recipes from this site that I experimented with, this was the best by far! I made over 200 cookies for an open house, decorated them simply with small amounts of buttercream frosting, and they were all gone! My dad and I have been looking for a new sugar cookie recipe - this is it! Thank you, Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
This is a great recipe, although I tweaked it. I doubled the vanilla, added 1/4 tsp. almond extract, and only used one teaspoon of baking powder. I did not have time to refridgerate dough, but cookies rolled easily and held their shape well. There were a lot of us in the kitchen, and everyone was pleased at how easy this recipe was. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
The taste was ok but it wasnt really a very soft cookie... not something to really decorate. Definitely not something to make masses of. I would make it again but i would roll the cookie 1/2 inch thick instead. I tried this with a few and it made it better. Be sure to take them out before they really start browning otherwise they will be crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
Used this recipe with toddlers and with a LOT of supervision! They did great! Dough was easy enough for them to work with - not too soft and not crumbly at all. Following previous comments, I didn't roll this out too thin, and removed when edges began to brown. Very easy to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States