Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a GREAT recipe! I have never made sugar cookies until today. I made the dough 2 days ago but was unable to roll/bake the cookies until today. Once the dough warmed up it was super easy to roll out and cut. I tasted one from my first batch and it was delish! Not too sweet, had a little tiny bit of crunch on the outside and soft on the inside. I'll be using the sugar cookie recipe from now on. I actually can't wait to make cookies again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele_One_L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe. Tip: Roll only small portions of dough at a time, keeping the rest in the cooler. Yummy flavor. My favorite "Sugar Cookie Dough". Everyone raved about the flavor and the tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Amazingly good! The tip to use sugar to help roll out was a stoke of genius! It added a crisp sugary crust to a sedately sweet cookie. My grandson and I will use this recipe every Christmas for the foreseeable future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These are the only sugar cookies that I have made which do not spread out so much to where the cookie cutter shape is not clean. These are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcn5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I just tried this recipe, and it is the BEST sugar cookie cutout recipe I've ever tried! I added about a teaspoon of almond extract and 1/2 teaspoon of salt (since I use unsalted butter for baking) and they were perfect. Easy to work with, great flavor. Many on here have mentioned their lack of sweetness, and it is true - this is not a super sweet cookie because it is intended to be frosted. In my experience, cookies that taste sweet enough on their own are sickeningly sweet once you add the frosting, sugar sprinkles, etc. So if you are wanting a cookie to eat as is, look elsewhere. But this is a perfect base for yummy frosted sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
makes a very nice dough! easy=peasy to roll out with kids. Would have liked them to have a tad more flavor- but I guess thats what frosting is for, right? Thank you for this "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These are pretty dry and I think could use more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
so, tried to make this with 3 kids ages 3 and under...wound up putting the dry and cream before the eggs and this my be why it turned out very dry. Many fell apart on the cookie sheet. I also found that putting sugar on before baking runs the risk of it being more sticky. Taste is decent. I also need to say that this is the first time I've made sugar cookies so perhaps chalk much of this up to inexperience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This sugar cookie held it's cookie cutter shape so nicely and it was a nice tender cookie, but I was disappointed in the lack of flavor. They were very bland even with icing. The texture, shape and ease of rolling, make it worth trying again, however, so I'm not casting this recipe aside just yet. I'm going to try them again with a little more sugar and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
BEST sugar cookie recipe ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States