Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
THE BEST sugar cookie recipe! They keep their shape EXACTLY how you cut them, does not stick to your baking surface (I used foil and they still just slide right off) AND it allows you to bake more cookies at once because you can basically stick them right next to eachother and not worry about expanding and sticking to eachother....will never use another recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This has to be my favorite recipe for sugar cookie cutouts! Dough does not stick at all to the rolling pin. Just made a box mix to compare and did not even match the quality. My Tips for awesome cutouts using this recipe: *Double the vanilla *Might need a bit more sugar *Make sure to chill dough overnight *Use parchment paper for rolling, chilling and baking. Do not move cutouts. *Very little flour is needed when rolling. * Let cutouts relax and chill after cutting with cookie cutters for at least an hour in the fridge (just transfer parchment paper with cutouts still on.) *Bake for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Took long but they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Agree with the reviewers who said this cookie is not sweet enough. I could taste the flour and even royal icing + colored sugar did not make up for the bland cookie. While the cookies were not crispy, they also were not very chewy...more of a dry but soft texture. They did roll very well, even after only 30 minutes in the fridge. If you are looking for a cookie that is not too sweet, this will work for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Athenarose
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I have used this recipe a few times already to make some sugar cookies for my kids to decorate. They hold together well when I roll them out. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These were great, all the good reviews were true. Easy to make, easy to work, the least annoying cut out cookie dough I've encountered. Agree with everyone that doubling the vanilla works
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
wonderful recipe - took Valentine cookies to the doctors office staff - they were goobled up! I used 1/4 more sugar, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla and added 1/2 tsp almond extract. Rolled out on counter top using powder sugar - crunchy on the outside - soft in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I agree that this is just about the best sugar cookie I have ever made. I made them for Christmas and now I'm making them for Valentines Day. The only thing I did different was to leave the dough in over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkcline46

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
These are perfect for decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deer Park, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I followed the instructions to the tee, and it didn't come out right at all. The dough was wet. And when I baked them, it had a hollow texture to the cookie and it didn't taste sweet at all, it was a little salty, and I didn't even add salt to this recipe. I don't know how the others got theirs right, when I followed everything it says for me to do. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States