Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These are the only sugar cookies that I have made which do not spread out so much to where the cookie cutter shape is not clean. These are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcn5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I just tried this recipe, and it is the BEST sugar cookie cutout recipe I've ever tried! I added about a teaspoon of almond extract and 1/2 teaspoon of salt (since I use unsalted butter for baking) and they were perfect. Easy to work with, great flavor. Many on here have mentioned their lack of sweetness, and it is true - this is not a super sweet cookie because it is intended to be frosted. In my experience, cookies that taste sweet enough on their own are sickeningly sweet once you add the frosting, sugar sprinkles, etc. So if you are wanting a cookie to eat as is, look elsewhere. But this is a perfect base for yummy frosted sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
makes a very nice dough! easy=peasy to roll out with kids. Would have liked them to have a tad more flavor- but I guess thats what frosting is for, right? Thank you for this "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These are pretty dry and I think could use more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
so, tried to make this with 3 kids ages 3 and under...wound up putting the dry and cream before the eggs and this my be why it turned out very dry. Many fell apart on the cookie sheet. I also found that putting sugar on before baking runs the risk of it being more sticky. Taste is decent. I also need to say that this is the first time I've made sugar cookies so perhaps chalk much of this up to inexperience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This sugar cookie held it's cookie cutter shape so nicely and it was a nice tender cookie, but I was disappointed in the lack of flavor. They were very bland even with icing. The texture, shape and ease of rolling, make it worth trying again, however, so I'm not casting this recipe aside just yet. I'm going to try them again with a little more sugar and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
BEST sugar cookie recipe ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
What an agreeable dough! It's like rolling out play-doh. Mine was well-chilled and softened to a good consistency as I worked with it. If you don't have any heavy cream, melt 1 1/3 tablespoon of butter and mix with milk, filled 3/4 of the way up your quarter cup. You may need to heat it slightly to re-melt the butter after adding cold milk to it. I also added some almond to this recipe out of personal preference. Baking them on an airbake makes them cook up completely without even turning slightly brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was a good sugar cookie recipe. Soft on the inside, held their shape. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is the perfect recipe for frosted sugar cookies. I think they are too bland to eat without frosting. They're so easy and almost impossible to screw up! I follow the recipe exactly. No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuyler, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States