Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Perfection! I added 2 tsp of vanilla, per the other reviewers suggestions. These dough was the perfect consistency for rolling and cutting. I let the dough chill in the fridge for 2 hours and then took it out of the fridge about 5 minutes before I was ready to roll. I also put the pan of cutouts in the freezer to chill for about 3-5 minutes to help them retain their shape. Great flavor and perfect for decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMadeWaffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otsego, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainwell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were delicious! Didn't make any modifications. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
They taste like flour and are not nearly sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have tried a few different recipes from this site and have had to tinker with them all. I will say that this one, was the easiest to work with after chilling over night. I feel that it is very bland by itself and the cookie from this recipe must be frosted. But I overall enjoyed the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vababe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Loved this recipe!! I reduced the baking powder to 1 tsp and increased the pure vanilla extract to 2 tsps. I also increased the sugar to 1 1/12 cups. That made the cookies have great flavor even without frosting and have just the right amount of softness. I also chilled for 8 hours in the fridge in 3 separate balls. You may want to even let them chill over night. Other than the chill time, the cookies were amazing! This is my new go to sugar cookie cut out recipe! My 6 year old loved making these and eating them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I made this using my stand mixer, which worked out great! I baked them on the lower end of the suggested time, when they were just starting to brown around the edges. They turned out slightly crispy on the outside with a little fluff on the inside. My only regret was not doubling the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Ok. I have to admit that I was a little sketchy after seeing the cream in this recipe. I decided to give it a go after having read some of the reviews and after several other recipes from this site turn into a total fail. I followed this recipe perfectly and the results are amazing! They are soft but still hard enough to frost, they have a nice texture on the top after they are baked, and my favorite part is that they actually taste great too! Usually I feel like a good cut out sugar cookie lacks in the flavor department, but these definitely do NOT disappoint! Happy to share these with friends and neighbors on our Christmas goodie plates!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mexican lover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I would give tis recipe 41/2 if I could. I couldn't give it a full 5 because I didn't find it very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammi Vik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Reliable basic recipe. I did add 1/4 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to add some flavor. I also used 1/2 cup less flour so it wasn't as flaky when rolling. Simple and easy to use for any occasion! My Maple Leaf cookies for Canada Day turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taylor White
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I actually really loved this recipe! They tasted good, and the texture was decent. I even made them gluten free and they turned out fantastic! I was thrilled when they didn't crumble when decorated. They frosted quiet nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States