Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I added extra vanilla after reading the reviews and it turn out to be quite ok. I rated it 4 stars because it was easy to roll out and doesnt stick to the rolling pin. My hubby and kids loved the cookies. Taste wise I find it slightly on the bland side but I guess since these are going with icing on top, the recipe works fine. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wobblejelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These really are delicious and perfect for cutout cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganeloise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I really wanted this recipe to work. It seemed to have gotten enough good reviews to give it a try. I am so sorry I did. I was not able to roll this dough to save my life. No matter what I did to it I couldn't get it to work. I ended up just rolling it into balls and flattening it with a fork. One positive thing, though, is that by adding the extra vanilla and cinnamon they tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Ok. I left the dough, as suggeted in other reviews, in the fridge over night. I did not find it easy to work with at all...maybe I had too much flour? The taste was 'ok' too. Not really worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These are the best sugar cookies ever! I made mine a little thicker than 1/4 inch and underbaked them slightly (just till firm when touched, not brown at all) and let them sit on the pan for a few minutes and they were super soft and chewy and froze very well, really yummy right out of the freezer. I'll never make another suger cookie recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I have been baking sugar cookies for most of my life and these are by far the best. We even did a bake-off this year and in taste tests this cookie won. I did add additional vanilla (total 1 tsp.) and a bit of almond extract (.5 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Echo the above, also allows many rollings - final batch turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
NEVER TRY ANOTHER SUGAR COOKIE CUTOUT RECIPE AGAIN!! I've read and read and experimented and thought I had finally found "my" scc recipe last Christmas...needless to say, I second guessed myself, read the reviews and tried this one immediately with the sugar cookie frosting. I finally have found the perfect sugar cookie! I live in Arizona and only had to chill the dough about 30 minutes and did double the vanilla amount. I even added pure almond extract to one batch. These were actually so much fun to roll and cut-out. No difficulty batch after batch, excellent tasting, and most importantly these are still soft days later! I did only cook them 12 minutes and would even try 11 minutes for small cut-outs. I look so forward to my kids being old enough to help me with these during the holidays. This is forever our sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe because every batch was consistently perfect in appearance. The cookies came out of the oven almost exactly like the shape of the cookie cutters used and they did not burn or spread like past recipes I have tried. The chill time was short and not much extra flour was needed for rolling them. In my opinion the flavor was somewhat bland. Frosting of course changes this and all in all it's a great recipe that I will use again. I couldn't eat these plain though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blythe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Best sugar cookie I have ever made. I made them for a Ladies Christmas dinner, and everyone raved. They even asked for the recipe....could not be easier; just go the Allrecipes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States