Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
These are the absolute best cutouts EVER!!! They are so moist and soft, they melt in your mouth. The texture reminds me of the Lofthouse sugar cookies. I added 2 tsp vanilla as others suggested and also 1/2 tsp salt. They turn out perfect every time. I have even made them after chilling in the fridge for only one hour. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Third time making these wonderfully easy sugar cookies. This time I added a little lemon juice. Yum. Make the cutest cutouts. I always make cookie bouquets for grandchildren and nephews and they look forward to them. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Corinth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This is the best recipe I have found for cut-out cookies. I doubled the vanilla based on what others had said, they've turned out lovely. With the icing/decoration they will definitely be sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzylou75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I'm terrible with cookies, but these were absolutely perfect. The dough was easy to put together and rolled out and cut beautifully. Even in my wonky oven they cooked right at 14 minutes. Easy peasy and I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I've been trying lots of different sugar cookie recipes to find a go-to recipe and although these were pretty good, I still haven't found my favorite yet. It was lacking some flavor and sweetness. On the plus side, the dough was easy to roll out and the cookies maintained their shape once cooked. It was a little sticky for me because I was limited on time and couldn't refrigerate the required time but I floured the board well. I might tweak this one to perfect the recipe to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
LOVE IT! I have tried many sugar cookie recipes from this site just within the last few days - this one is the easiest by far for managing cutout cookies. I didn't have one break (and there were some delicate ones - a cowboy boot with a spur). I added an extra teaspoon of vanilla, refrigerated the dough for about 35 minutes before working with it. While rolling the dough, I sprinkled sugar on top of wax paper and also on top of the dough while I was rolling with a floured rolling pin. These cookies are not super sweet, which is why I give them a little boost with the extra sugar while rolling them out. This will be my go-to sugar cookie recipe from now on. I have always hated baking sugar cookies because of the constant struggle with the dough consistency. These were GREAT! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
These are very, very good cookies--if you add either more vanilla, or in my case, I added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. almond extract. The cookies are very moist and cake-like. And they were easy to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pella, Iowa, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I loved this recipe. So easy. used in conjunction with a sugar cookie glaze that had almond extract in it. I did this for Valentines day and I had nothing but compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESwanson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Great recipe! Came out fluffy and soft! Perfect for the kids to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
not bad but lacked some flavor, maybe should add more vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States