Sugar Cookie Cutouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is the first sugar cookie recipe I have found that kept it's shape while baking. Made exactly as per recipe. Not too sweet before they're iced, but perfect with sugar sprinkles or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I refrigerated the dough overnight like other suggested. It was very easy to work with. The flavor and texture of the cookies is very good but they do need icing. I baked the first batch for 12 minutes and they were too crispy so the next bath I baked only 6 minutes and they were perfect. My tip is if you are using dark non stick pans to either lower the temp by 25 degrees or bake for a shorter time. You can get crisp cookies if you roll the dough out thinner and more substantial cookies if you roll our a little thicker, I would make these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
OMG!!!!!! These are the B E S T!!! Normally I hate, with a passion, to make sugar cookies...but this recipe is so easy and cut wonderfully. Usually the dough falls apart on me between rolling and the cookie sheet, but these stayed solid all the way. I did chill them overnight, so the dough was good and firm. Rolled them to a 1/4 inch like it said with no problem what so ever. Sprinkled with the colored sugar and off to the oven they go. Made balloons (which, yes are probably the easiest...but remember my first statement) for my son's housewarming party, so will be outlining with some royal type frosting for a little more festive look. And yes we did try a couple to make sure all was good...and Yes...Yummmmmy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I have never submited a review before but these cookies are absolutely amazing. With frosting or as is - this is definatly a family favorite and one we will make over and over. This is the easiest sugar cookie recipe I have ever tried. We left the dough chilling overnight and it was perfect the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is now my go-to recipe for cutout cookies. I have made these twice in the last couple months, once for a big birthday party and another time for a wedding. Each time I made four batches. Even though I usually hate the fuss of rolling out dough, this recipe makes it a breeze. One of the keys is to refrigerate the dough for at least an hour or overnight. Each batch yields about three dozen cutouts. For beautiful and easy frosting, I mix powdered sugar with a little milk and food coloring until I get the right consistency. Then I dunk the tops of the cookies in, and let drip-dry on wire cookie racks. Many people have asked me for the recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I'm wanting to start my own cookie business so I tried this recipe. The texture is soft, but firm enough to work with. The flavor is very yummy. I followed the recipe, but added 1/4 sugar and doubled the vanilla. My children AND husband really liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Great Sugar Cookie recipe! My daughter loved cutting them out. :) And we ALL loved eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamiddavis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was the ONLY recipe that has worked for me. Cookies kept their shape and tasted good too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by »Karen­«
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I made these last year and everyone devoured them! I forgot to post pictures and review though until now. I really recommend using parchment paper to roll and cut on. You just peel off the extra dough around the cut-outs, lift up the whole sheet of paper and place it on the cookie pan. This way you don't ruin the shapes by picking them up individually. Also, be sure to roll no thicker than 1/4" or the cookies will get puffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by »Karen­«

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States